Author Topic: OS2.7  (Read 10422 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Trevor

  • Goldfinger64 Dev Location:UK
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Everdrive64 v2 (PAL)
    • View Profile
OS2.7
« on: November 13, 2014, 08:07 PM »
There is an error in OS2.7 that prevents Perfect Dark from loading... (Just says, loading Game, then displayes a black screen)

I downgraded to 2.5 and Perfect Dark works fine.
I then upgraded again on the fly by selecting 2.7 from 2.5 and Perfect Dark broke again.

What I did notice however is that Marshals MGC2011 demo works in 1.29 and 2.7 but not in 2.5 hehehe odd...
Actually... it does work now...

GoldenEye works in all versions.

Havnt tried some Nintendo SDK Roms I made since 2.2 but some refused to load back then. I will try them on 2.7

ok, tried the test roms and they all act as before.

So the only game not working is PD... can someone confirm?

Trev

Offline Paulweeze

  • Video Game Connoisseur
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1028
  • Karma: +43/-0
  • Music and Games are good for the soul.
    • View Profile
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2014, 08:17 PM »
I can confirm that Perfect Dark loads fine on my ED64 V2 using OS 2.07. When I initally added OS 2.07, I had a bunch of FAT errors so I reformatted my card and it works fine now. Maybe that could help your situation?
Everdrives I own: ED64, Mega Everdrive, EDGB, EDGG, N8, Master Everdrive

Other Flashcarts: SD2SNES

Offline KRIKzz

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3388
  • Karma: +515/-2
    • View Profile
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2014, 08:36 PM »
i can run perfect dark on my system without any problems

Offline fille1976

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 356
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2014, 09:00 PM »
perfekt dark working here,ntsc version 1.1 on ntsc rgb modded n64,everdrive 64 v2 ntsc cic

Offline Kerr Avon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1740
  • Karma: +173/-3
    • View Profile
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2014, 10:31 PM »
No, Trevor is right. On my PAL N64 + PAL Everdrive 64 +PAL TV, both v2.06 and v2.07 of the OS refuse to load Perfect Dark NTSC. The PAL version of the game loads OK, but not the NTSC version. On v2.05, both NTSC and PAL Perfect Dark load fine.

From experimenting, I can load Perfect Dark NTSC on v2.07 (not tried this on v2.06) as long as I go into the ED64's Z menu, and set Game Mode to NTSC. If it's set to AUTO (as it always is, up until now) then PD NTSC won't load, so hopefully that will give Krikzz some idea of how to fix the problem.


By the way, Krikzz, how do we use Gameshark codes from a txt file on the SD card, please?

Offline KRIKzz

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3388
  • Karma: +515/-2
    • View Profile
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2014, 10:34 PM »
just push to text file with codes in browser

Offline bidou67

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2014, 12:01 AM »
on my everdrive64 v3 us version and N64 us version , perfect dark load fine and work for me  , in OS 2.07 , self test also work fine without any error , strange problem ?
« Last Edit: November 14, 2014, 12:03 AM by bidou67 »

Offline Trevor

  • Goldfinger64 Dev Location:UK
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Everdrive64 v2 (PAL)
    • View Profile
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2014, 01:10 AM »
Cheers Ker, I was getting worried I might have a corrupt GEX...

Yeah, I guess I should have mentioned that I am using a PAL system with NTSC ROM (GoldenEyeX) using default settings. (Hmm, Prahaps the forum should have a bit of text under our username for this stuff :P)

Heh, funally enough I didnt try forcing NTSC, but I did try forcing PAL beleving that NTSC (Default) was broken, I guess I did the opposit to the solution hahaha

Anyway, Ill try that now and hopefully it works :)

Trev

Offline KRIKzz

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3388
  • Karma: +515/-2
    • View Profile
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2014, 01:15 AM »
Seems like i found the problem. try 2.08

Offline Trevor

  • Goldfinger64 Dev Location:UK
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Everdrive64 v2 (PAL)
    • View Profile
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2014, 01:25 AM »
Ah thanks for the quick fix, testing now.

Trev

Offline Kerr Avon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1740
  • Karma: +173/-3
    • View Profile
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2014, 01:41 AM »
Seems like i found the problem. try 2.08

That's very quick! I know you must get sick of hearing this, but you really are an asset to us Everdrive fans (who I hope you think of as friends), you really do go to so much trouble over the Everdrives. Most companies in your situation would just leave the OS as it is, and not bother to fix bugs or add features.

Contrast that to a certain big (huge) name laptop manufacturer, who have a massive problem in their graphics scaling ratio, and who have known about it for a long time, but just ignore the issue, and barely even admit it exists. If you have a Hewlett Packard laptop, then you probably know I'm referring to them - I have two (different models) both with the same problem (and lots of others have, too), and despite all the time spent with their technical support, I can't find a solution, let alone get them to pinpoint the cause of the problem.

Offline Kerr Avon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1740
  • Karma: +173/-3
    • View Profile
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2014, 06:58 PM »
Sorry, I thought I'd replied to this, but Perfect Dark NTSC works with v2.08 no problem, thanks.

Secondly (and why I'm posting), I can't get the cheats to work. For example, I have some codes that I know work on a real Gameshark (see http://www.shootersforever.com/forums_message_boards/viewtopic.php?t=1984 for details). The codes are


D109A0400020
8009A9770001
D109A0400020
8109A96E01F4

and they are for the PAL version of Perfect Dark. These codes make it so that in multiplayer, when you have picked up a Combat Boost, then by pressing the Left Shoulder Button you can activate the Combat Boost (so that time moves slower) without having to do it the ordinary way (which is where you first have to select Combat Boost as the current weapon, then 'fire' to activate it).

So I have a text file inside my SD card's  \ED64\AUTO  folder, called

Perfect Dark (E) [!].txt

and it contains only the four lines:


D109A040 0020 Press L-Shoulder for Combat Boost
8009A977 0001
D109A040 0020
8109A96E 01F4


I take it that's all I have to do on the SD card?

Now, when I boot up the N64, I go to the ED64/AUTO folder, go to the file "Perfect Dark (E) [!].txt", press A, and select 'LOAD CHEATS'.

Now, if I press Z then 'CHEATS' I see that the cheat codes are listed onscreen, the four cheats from the "Perfect Dark (E) [!].txt" file, followed by lots of 00000000 0000.

So I navigate to GAMES\ and to Perfect Dark (E) [!].z64, and press A and choose "SELECT AND START" and the game loads. But the cheats aren't working, so what am I doing wrong?

By the way, if I do everything as above, but instead of choosing "SELECT AND START" at the Perfect Dark (E) [!].z64 rom file, I instead choose "SELECT ONLY", and then press Z and select "CHEATS", then all of the cheats are shown as nothing but 00000000 0000, as though the ED64 has forgotten the cheat codes. So is there a problem with the "SELECT ONLY" and "SELECT and START modes"? And what is "SELECT ONLY" for, please?

Sorry for the trouble, Krikzz.

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
  • Karma: +56/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #12 on: November 16, 2014, 10:13 PM »
press Z and select "Options" make sure GameShark is "ON" and Auto Cheats is "ON"

you will need cheat file in like this

sd\GAMES\Perfect Dark (E) [!].z64
sd\GAMES\Perfect Dark (E) [!].txt <-- your cheats
sd\ED64\AUTO\Perfect Dark (E) [!].txt <--- auto generated and what codes are on, do not touch

sd\GAMES\Perfect Dark (E) [!].z64 choose "SELECT ONLY"
then
sd\GAMES\Perfect Dark (E) [!].txt choose "Load cheats"
then
Press Start button

Also,
you will need "(m) MUST BE ON" code from here
http://uk.codejunkies.com/search/codes/Perfect-Dark_Nintendo-64_6293140-6___.aspx


ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N & Pro M19 N1 | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
RetroUSB AVS | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance |  16bitPocket GBC | PCE+SSD3

Offline Paulweeze

  • Video Game Connoisseur
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1028
  • Karma: +43/-0
  • Music and Games are good for the soul.
    • View Profile
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #13 on: November 17, 2014, 12:02 AM »
Although loading cheats like that is faster, you can still use cheats straight off the menu (tried that with the GBC campaign on No Mercy and it worked). But yea, you do need the master codes just like a normal gameshark.
Everdrives I own: ED64, Mega Everdrive, EDGB, EDGG, N8, Master Everdrive

Other Flashcarts: SD2SNES

Offline Trevor

  • Goldfinger64 Dev Location:UK
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 205
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • Everdrive64 v2 (PAL)
    • View Profile
Re: OS2.7
« Reply #14 on: November 17, 2014, 06:08 PM »
Can I also add that if you have a txt file with the rom filename in the auto folder you dont even need to select "Load Cheats"
Thats why its called auto load cheats, the OS does this for you... That is unless Krikzz broke it hehehe.

I have a working example for the Debug Menu in Beetle Adventure Racing (The one where the title says Need for Speed)
I copied the rom name which was something like [BeetleAdventureRacing.n64] to [BeetleAdventureRacing.txt] and placed the txt in the auto folder.

Now everytime I start (SelectAndStart) BAR it always has the debug menu.


To enter codes manually you need to first select the Game (Select) then either enter the codes or select txt file (Very good idea by the way, ill need to try it) then Start the game.

If you select another game or press SelectAndStart then all settings will be re-set.
This is not a bug, but very practical.

Trev