Author Topic: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES? [NO!]  (Read 27348 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #15 on: June 04, 2018, 05:59 PM »
*Double post, sorry*

Offline aterraformer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #16 on: June 07, 2018, 02:45 AM »
There are some SMW hacks that utilize SA-1 that would be really nice to play on console without having to buy and expensive flash cart for each of them or something silly like that.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2018, 11:45 PM by aterraformer »

Offline sdekaar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #17 on: June 11, 2018, 07:35 PM »
i need a gradius3 with the same hack. :)

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #18 on: June 12, 2018, 02:24 AM »
i need a gradius3 with the same hack. :)

What does that have to do with an FPGA?

Offline DieKatzchen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #19 on: June 18, 2018, 02:26 AM »
If it's impossible, could it be proven impossible? Like, could a bounty be put up and promise a partial payout if it turns out to be impossible? It would be more tempting to a developer to try if they knew their time wouldn't be wasted.

Offline Lord Awesomesauce

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #20 on: June 18, 2018, 01:19 PM »
I thought there was already a $1,000 bounty for the SA-1, but I don't think it's a partial one (for at least a PoC to see if it's possible).

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #21 on: June 18, 2018, 06:13 PM »
I thought there was already a $1,000 bounty for the SA-1, but I don't think it's a partial one (for at least a PoC to see if it's possible).

There is? Where is it posted? I mean, if it can't be done, then maybe a partial implementation is all that's needed; so far, no one has taken it on.

Offline Alvis

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #22 on: June 18, 2018, 10:12 PM »
https://twitter.com/picantelive/status/961352854681325569

This talk of "physically possible" is pointless. Turing machines can simulate each other. Whether that's practical or not is the real question.

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #23 on: June 19, 2018, 02:49 AM »
https://twitter.com/picantelive/status/961352854681325569

This talk of "physically possible" is pointless. Turing machines can simulate each other. Whether that's practical or not is the real question.

I'd rather have SA-1 more than the other remaining chips; S-DD1 is used by two games (one of which is a severely downgraded arcade port with horrible audio quality). SPC7110 is only used
by what, Far of East Eden?  SA-1 has Mario RPG, Kirby's Super Star, Kirby's Dream Land 3, Treasure Hunter G, so many more games.

Offline Jdurg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #24 on: June 19, 2018, 06:29 AM »
Keep in mind that the presence of other chips has ZERO IMPACT on whether the SA-1 chip can be added.  Whatever chip is needed is only flashed/loaded when the specific ROM gets loaded. 

So it's not like removing the support for other chips will magically make the SA-1 chip fit.

Offline FeverDrive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1178
  • Karma: +52/-0
  • Blast Processing™ inside
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #25 on: June 19, 2018, 06:42 AM »
https://twitter.com/picantelive/status/961352854681325569

This talk of "physically possible" is pointless. Turing machines can simulate each other. Whether that's practical or not is the real question.
I think "physically possible" means that the specific FPGA (which has a limited number of gates) has enough capacity to simulate the processor. The FPGA is a physical object.
By the way a Turing machine is a theoretical machine, it doesn't exist.
And so I go fast.

Offline zstandig

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #26 on: June 19, 2018, 07:00 AM »
If the SA-1 is just a souped up SNES CPU... can the SNES CPU be overclocked somehow and just use that?

Offline Rakutenka

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #27 on: June 20, 2018, 05:07 AM »
If the SA-1 is just a souped up SNES CPU... can the SNES CPU be overclocked somehow and just use that?

No. The game is coded to look for and use the SA-1. You would have to do some serious editing of the games' code to make this work and even then it likely wouldn't work.

Offline iwasaperson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #28 on: June 20, 2018, 07:28 AM »
No. The game is coded to look for and use the SA-1. You would have to do some serious editing of the games' code to make this work and even then it likely wouldn't work.
Actually fun fact, most SA-1 games just used it for DRM purposes, so it is theoretically possible to hack the games to not use it, but that would be a major pain. It would be easier to just make a half-assed SA-1 FPGA core with the CIC stuff and some of the 65816 stuff.
@Syboxez on Discord and some other places as well.

Offline dreimer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
    • Reimi's Blog
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #29 on: June 20, 2018, 11:09 AM »
Actually fun fact, most SA-1 games just used it for DRM purposes, so it is theoretically possible to hack the games to not use it, but that would be a major pain. It would be easier to just make a half-assed SA-1 FPGA core with the CIC stuff and some of the 65816 stuff.

It's true that no game really used 100% of the SA-1, but it's entirely wrong that games ONLY used the CIC features. When a SA-1 is used then with a specific reason like sprite speedup.