Author Topic: Is it possible (if so, looking for how) to have no SD card exposed  (Read 8643 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JohnnyPhantom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Hey everyone!

The Super Everdrive looks awesome, and I just placed my order. I got just the board so I'll be using a donor cart for the shell. My question is, I don't see the need of having the SD card easily accessed, infact I'd like to keep it completely hidden inside the cart and not have to cut a hole in the SNES cart shell. Figuring I'll load all the roms I want on one SD card, and put the cart together, really no need to have to remove it (and on the rare times when I do, I'll just reopen the cart).

Is there a way to do this? either with some short microSD to SD adapter or something similar?
I'm handy with a soldering iron too if that helps widen my options

thanks everyone!!
~John

Offline JohnnyPhantom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible (if so, looking for how) to have no SD card exposed
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2012, 08:44 PM »
Thinking I could just get this

http://dx.com/p/2-in-1-tf-card-to-sd-card-adapter-usb-card-reader-white-126299?item=27

and chop off the USB side, hoping there are better methods

thanks again!
~John

Offline KRIKzz

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3356
  • Karma: +502/-2
    • View Profile

Offline JohnnyPhantom

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible (if so, looking for how) to have no SD card exposed
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2012, 04:35 PM »
you need rs-mmc card. like this one: http://www.ebay.com/itm/2GB-DV-RS-MMC-RSMMC-Memory-Card-for-Nokia-7610-N72-E025-/320773048011?pt=PDA_Accessories&hash=item4aaf9046cb

Thanks KRIKzz!!! You are the coolest!! looks like 2GB is the biggest size for those cards. That should be enough for me ^-^
thanks again!
~John
« Last Edit: August 30, 2012, 04:44 PM by JohnnyPhantom »

Offline stallion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible (if so, looking for how) to have no SD card exposed
« Reply #4 on: October 03, 2012, 10:58 PM »
I was also looking at doing this, i see there was a kickstarter for shorter SD cards for use with the Macbook

 http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1342319572/the-nifty-minidrive

However they wont be out for a while yet. Not sure if they will work or not

Offline robneal81

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible (if so, looking for how) to have no SD card exposed
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2013, 11:46 PM »
I was hoping to get someone's help on this.  I wanted to buy a MMC card, so nothing would be sticking out the top of my Everdrive MD and Super Everdrive (like explained in this thread).  I ended up getting this one:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003YUDJ9W/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Whenever I try putting it in my Super Everdrive or Everdrive MD and go to "Select Game", I get an error that says:

fat init...
HC

Then, no matter what I do (or what button I press), nothing happens.  Strangely enough, if I use it in my Master Everdrive, I get a different message.  It says:

fat init...
mmc init error

Then, if I press a button it brings me back to the main menu...but if I go into "select game" a second time, it reads the card and plays games!!!

I tried formatting the card FAT and FAT32 and both have the same results.  Can anyone suggest a fix so I can use it on my Super Everdrive and Everdrive MD (and Master Everdrive without an error message)?

Offline robneal81

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible (if so, looking for how) to have no SD card exposed
« Reply #6 on: October 02, 2013, 05:53 PM »
I'm still having this issue, no matter how I format the card.

As an FYI, I'm using all original systems, no clone hardware.

Offline Juhani1982

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible (if so, looking for how) to have no SD card exposed
« Reply #7 on: October 20, 2013, 02:36 AM »
Just cut the SD card in half, thats what i did with mine.

Offline robneal81

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +8/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible (if so, looking for how) to have no SD card exposed
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2013, 03:29 PM »
Just cut the SD card in half, thats what i did with mine.

I found a better way:

http://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topic=1023.0

Offline Juhani1982

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible (if so, looking for how) to have no SD card exposed
« Reply #9 on: October 22, 2013, 03:09 AM »
That way you still have to cut a hole in the cart shell.