Author Topic: Battery of questions (sorry)  (Read 4576 times)

Offline VivaErBetis

• View Profile
Battery of questions (sorry)
« on: May 22, 2012, 01:47 AM »
Hi Krikzz,

tha card is really wonderful and I'm learning a lot about it's correct use. But, unfortunately, it comes without manual and I have some questions;

1.- My Super Everdrive card comes with a DSP-1 chip installed (versiĆ³n DSP-1, not 1A or 1B). I have a Super Mario Kart cartridge with DSP-1B chip inside. Do you recommend to replace the Super Everdrive one with 1B version in order to gain compatibility/speed/whatever?

2.- I'm wondering what's the usage of "Everdrive id" option in "Rom settings"... I've used it several times without figuring what's it's function (i'm a noob)...

3.- Finally, I'm using some other "Rom Settings" options with a lot of ROMs because I like to use Trained ROMs and these kinds of ROMs are often not booted (or booted incorrectly) by the Super Everdrive. I noticed that the "correct ROMs" have always a "size -> map to" of:

524288 b -> Map to 512k
  1048576 b -> Map to 1m
  2097152 b -> Map to 2m
  3145728 b -> Map to 4m
  4194304 b -> Map to 4m
  5242880 b -> Map to 8m
  6291456 b -> Map to 8m

These kind of ROMs are always correctly booted, with the correct map assigned. But Trained ROMs are usually a little bigger in size than it's corresponding correct ROM. In these cases Super Everdrive doesn't boot the ROM in a correct way cause it's mapped to a lower map. In example:

- Super Turrican (U) [t1] -> Size: 540672 b. Since it's bigger than 524288 b it will be mapped to 1m but Super Everdrive map it to 512k and it doesn't run until you change the map to 1m in Rom Settings.

- Final Fight Guy (U) [t1] -> Size: 1130496 b. It's bigger than 1048576 b so it should be map to 2m but it's automatically mapped to 1m. Changing it to 2m make it runs.