Author Topic: new EDGB - some woes  (Read 9068 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Localhorst86

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
new EDGB - some woes
« on: May 11, 2015, 11:23 PM »
Hello folks,

In just received my everdrive GB today and I have been fiddling around with it since noon. At first it worked, then it seemed to be broken and after hours of trying to fix it, repeatedly switching and reformatting sdhc cards it seemingly returned back to life.

It took me another few hours of trial and error to re-break and re-fix it and I am now at a a point where I think I have figured out what part stops working exactly and how to fix it but I am still not able to reproduce it controllable at a 100% success rate so i'll just start of with the first issue.

But before that, my setup: I am trying to use the EDGB on my GBA SP AGS-001 and a regular AGB-001 model. The micro SDHCs I tried are a SanDisk 2GB and an off-brand 8GB model. Both have been verified with a tool called h2testw which confirmed they are properly working and actually hold as much data as they claim they do (so no fake Chinese cards that wont actually hold the amount it says on the box)

First issue: quite often "Load and start" will not properly load the ROM, instead it will boot to either a blank screen, a Gameboy logo garbled Nintendo lettering or the ROM that was on the card before - but broken. So if I had Tetris on it and tried loading Legend of Zelda it would actually boot to the Tetris title screen, but upon pressing start the screen would garble up and freeze the system. I can even predict when this issue would appear because "erasing..." would only take a split second before proceeding to "writing...". To fix this, I need to select "Load" instead, then press start to launch the game. This will succeed when the "erasing..." takes a few seconds instead of a split second before. Maybe I am doing something wrong or this is a known issue. Any ideas? Edit: it actually seems I need to wait a few (~30) seconds before loading a rom for the erasing process to actually succeed.

Second issue: The Gameboy Camera Rom will load fine but it wont save the photos "taken". I was intending to send photos over via link cable from my original GB Camera and then be able to access the photos in the save data using appropriate tools.
However, EDGB will not save the SRAM of the ROM when selecting a new one, so the save data is never written to the sdhc. Does anyone know what the reason for this is? Does the Camera even use SRAM? Because weirdly enough I would think the battery would be dead after more than 16 years but it still holds my ancient photos.
« Last Edit: May 11, 2015, 11:31 PM by Localhorst86 »

Offline trekeyus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
    • my soundcloud
Re: new EDGB - some woes
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2015, 04:08 AM »
SRAM is only saved when you switch out roms and for the camera rom you might have to switch save ram to on for that rom. you periodically have to do that on a case by case basis for funky roms. then simply switch roms and it should backup the sram to the sd card. To force the saving of RAM to on hit the select button then hit B with the Options hilighted then hit the down arrow till you set to save RAM and hit b again then hit A to back out. then try loadign another rom
« Last Edit: May 12, 2015, 04:10 AM by trekeyus »
Chaos reigns within - Reflect, repent and reboot - Order shall return

Offline Localhorst86

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: new EDGB - some woes
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2015, 03:24 PM »
Thanks for the response, gonna have to try that once my link cable arrives, see if my idea works.

Regarding my other issue: I think I might have received a fake EDGB/clone. I have now ordered from everdrive.de and I'm gonna see if that works better. Is there some way I can verify the one I have now is real or fake/cloned? Attached are some pictures.



Offline trekeyus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
    • my soundcloud
Re: new EDGB - some woes
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2015, 06:58 PM »
silk screening looks legit to me. perhaps you might have a defective cart.
Chaos reigns within - Reflect, repent and reboot - Order shall return

Offline Localhorst86

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: new EDGB - some woes
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2015, 12:49 PM »
Having received my EDGB from everdrive.de today (took less than 24 hours, I'm impressed) I think I can say for certain that what I received the day before is a clone/fake card.

The case looks identical and - at first glance - so seem the boards. Upon closer inspection you can tell some minute and some glaring differences.

1. The LED of the genuine EDGB is red. The fake one is green.
2. The chips and IC are mostly the same except for the two 16 bit BUS transceivers. The EDGB uses Philips brand chips, the fake one Texas Instruments labeled LVTH16245A
3. The transistor next to the transceivers is mounted at a 90° difference and only has 3 legs compared to the EDGBs 5 legs.
4. On the left of the Altera FPGA the two caps (?) are vertically aligned, on the EDGB they are slightly offset.
5. Between the FPGA and the NOR flash the EDGB has an additional capacitor.
6. On the backside of the board the traces of the EDGB seem to be a lot thinner and the "bone-shaped" traces on the right hand side of the board have a smaller circumference.

If anyone is interested I can provide images of the two boards side by side using a better camera than the one on my tablet.

EDIT: additionally, the about page of the fake one will display SN:1000 (I guess that means serial number) and device info will show an ASM Date of 2.0.1980, ASM Time: 0:0:2 whereas the EDGB will display a different hexadecimal SN and device info will show an ASM Date and Time of 21.4.2015 and 14:11:38 respectively.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2015, 01:06 PM by Localhorst86 »

Offline Paulweeze

  • Video Game Connoisseur
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1028
  • Karma: +43/-0
  • Music and Games are good for the soul.
    • View Profile
Re: new EDGB - some woes
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2015, 02:59 AM »
Having received my EDGB from everdrive.de today (took less than 24 hours, I'm impressed) I think I can say for certain that what I received the day before is a clone/fake card.

I've seen many blatantly obvious clones of everdrives but not something that remotely similar to the actual product. May I ask where you got this from (so others can avoid the experience that you went through)?
Everdrives I own: ED64, Mega Everdrive, EDGB, EDGG, N8, Master Everdrive

Other Flashcarts: SD2SNES

Offline KRIKzz

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3379
  • Karma: +510/-2
    • View Profile
Re: new EDGB - some woes
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2015, 11:05 AM »
Yep, clone detected on the your photos. Look at the small IC on the right bottom corner, it should be 5-legs IC, but clones uses 3-leg IC. IT is the simplest way to detect clone.
This is how looks original: http://i.imgur.com/SnOUr3Z.jpg

Offline Localhorst86

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: new EDGB - some woes
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2015, 08:25 PM »
I've seen many blatantly obvious clones of everdrives but not something that remotely similar to the actual product. May I ask where you got this from (so others can avoid the experience that you went through)?

Yes, you may, i bought it on aliexpress. I do feel somewhat ashamed that I ever actually believed I would get an original everdrive from china and I have contacted the seller and negotiated a massive refund and keeping the faulty item (as shipping it back to china is a hassle and too expensive). Since it sometimes works i feel i can live with that as a secondary everdrive.

Nonetheless, the one I received from everdrive.de is fully working and original and I am quite happy with this device.

So here's what I've learned: If you want an original everdrive that is fully working, get one from the list of trusted sellers. Do not buy from china. Ever. Not even if the description looks legit and the photos are convincing. Chances are, you'll get a clone that's not working properly.

Offline Paulweeze

  • Video Game Connoisseur
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1028
  • Karma: +43/-0
  • Music and Games are good for the soul.
    • View Profile
Re: new EDGB - some woes
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2015, 10:10 PM »
I've seen many blatantly obvious clones of everdrives but not something that remotely similar to the actual product. May I ask where you got this from (so others can avoid the experience that you went through)?
Yes, you may, i bought it on aliexpress. I do feel somewhat ashamed that I ever actually believed I would get an original everdrive from china...

It happens to all of us. I bought a 32gb micro sd off ebay (when that was a large size) and it was of course a counterfeit. Always watch where you buy any product from, whether it be aliexpress or ebay. Glad you discovered a legit source and are enjoying it (and glad you got a massive refund).
Everdrives I own: ED64, Mega Everdrive, EDGB, EDGG, N8, Master Everdrive

Other Flashcarts: SD2SNES

Offline tassadarforaiur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: new EDGB - some woes
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2015, 12:11 AM »
Found this one on ebay for $68 from hong kong, since the 100 bulk order from Krikzz is 65, I convinced myself it might be legit. I was wrong.  The shipping was from hong kong, the warning signs were there, but I still fell for the cheaper tag.
Full album here http://imgur.com/a/1GNJb (imgur because images big and i have 7 of them)



 
« Last Edit: August 22, 2015, 12:16 AM by tassadarforaiur »

Offline KRIKzz

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3379
  • Karma: +510/-2
    • View Profile
Re: new EDGB - some woes
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2015, 09:38 PM »
this is clone also. Look at small part on left down corner, on original cart is should be five contacts component, but clone use three contacts component