Author Topic: Core Grafx power supply?  (Read 4388 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

aloram

  • Guest
Core Grafx power supply?
« on: July 25, 2015, 11:26 PM »
I'm in the U.S., and I've read conflicting reports about whether or not I can use a Master System power supply (Model: 3025) with a Core Grafx system. Has anyone here done this? Thanks.

Offline goombakid

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +74/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Core Grafx power supply?
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2015, 01:33 AM »
If you got a model 1 Genesis adapter, I'd use that instead. That's what I use with my OG PCE.

You *should* be able to use the Master System one.

aloram

  • Guest
Re: Core Grafx power supply?
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2015, 03:37 AM »
If you got a model 1 Genesis adapter, I'd use that instead. That's what I use with my OG PCE.

You *should* be able to use the Master System one.
Thanks for your input. I actually have an official Genesis one, but it's the 1602-3 model, which outputs 10V instead of 9V for some reason. I can't seem to find a clear answer on whether or not it's okay to use it with the Core Grafx; that's why I thought the Master System plug might be better.

You can see the 1602-3 model here:

http://segaretro.org/AC_adaptor

Offline goombakid

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +74/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Core Grafx power supply?
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2015, 05:14 AM »
The 1602-3 should work as well. I've used a TG16 adapter (10.5V IIRC) on all my older consoles with no problem. It was perfect with my SMS.

aloram

  • Guest
Re: Core Grafx power supply?
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2015, 06:27 AM »
Thanks. Any reason you think the Master System plug isn't the best idea?

Offline goombakid

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +74/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Core Grafx power supply?
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2015, 06:56 AM »
Can't think of one other than I forgot the specs off the top of my head and searched for info after I posted. Either way, you'll be OK.

aloram

  • Guest
Re: Core Grafx power supply?
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2015, 03:43 PM »
The 1602-3 should work as well. I've used a TG16 adapter (10.5V IIRC) on all my older consoles with no problem. It was perfect with my SMS.
I'm just a little confused about this comment. Are you saying the 1602-3 is fine on its own, or that I'd need a TG16 adapter with it? I don't know anything about those adapters. Thanks again for your input.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2015, 06:25 PM by aloram »

Offline goombakid

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +74/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Core Grafx power supply?
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2015, 07:47 PM »
Yes, the 1602-3 is fine to use on it's own with your Core.

aloram

  • Guest
Re: Core Grafx power supply?
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2015, 07:55 PM »
Has anyone on this forum used a Master System power supply? Just wondering if that works exactly the same as a Genesis model 1 power supply. Thanks for your help.