Author Topic: No picture ED64 v3.03  (Read 3678 times)

Offline Linkmunken

• View Profile
No picture ED64 v3.03
« on: July 26, 2016, 11:05 PM »
Hi all!

I'm fairly new to this whole everdrive stuff. I've got one for the NES, SNES and for Mega Drive. All of them were no real hassle to get up n' running. The Everdrive 64 proved to be a bit trickier.

So, here's my story. I bought a brand new cart from an online store here in Sweden called Retrospelboxar.se. Opening the cart up the circuit bord tells me it's a v3.03.
I downloaded  the OS-V2.12.zip from Krikzz.com, unzipped it and dragged the ED64 folder to my 16GB Sandisc Ultra SD card. I then went on and created another folder for my ROM games and put some in. That should have been it right? Wrong.

When I try to start the cartridge up nothing happens. I mean nothing. Black screen, no sound. Same thing if I try it without the SD card inserted. Nothing.

So I tried to reformat the SD card (on a MAC though) setting the format to FAT. "Reinstalled" the folders and had yet another go. Nothing!
Tried cleaning both the cart and the actual console aaand...nothing. *sob*

My original carts boot just fine on my PAL N64. I use nothing but original cords and I have an Expansion Pak installed. What the hell am I doing wrong?!
I can see no trace of any tearing och the ED64, no trace of bumps or scrape marks.

Please help me get this fixed! I can't even stand the thought of the procedure I would have to go thru sending it back and having to wait for another one.

Offline Linkmunken

• View Profile
Re: No picture ED64 v3.03
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2016, 11:15 PM »
Oh! And one more thing. Looking at my order from the store it says "CiC chip: no". But as I remember it I wasn't even given the option. Is that what causing my issue?

It does however state in the tech specs that "CIC boot emulator. Enough to have CIC6102/CIC7101 to play any games". What ever that really means...

Offline Aroenai

• Sentient Hunk of Green Cheese