Author Topic: Black borders on the screen  (Read 3441 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Junninx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Black borders on the screen
« on: August 27, 2016, 09:02 PM »
 Hello, can someone tell me why some games run with black borders on the four sides of the screen
and others fits perfect on the screen ?
 
 I noticed my pokemon stadium 2, mario golf and others roms, runs perfect and some others roms have these black borders...
 
Anyone have the answer ? maybe this is a bad dump ? My roms are from the multi rom set by smokemonster. And I downloaded it as it says it's bit perfect roms.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2016, 03:13 AM by Junninx »

Offline GBM

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Black borders on the screen
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2016, 09:26 PM »
1. Some PAL games have black borders in comparison to their NTSC counterparts.
2. Some games (e.g. Waverace) have got black borders in all regions. Some do this to save processing power, some to compensate for overscan.

Offline Junninx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Black borders on the screen
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2016, 09:34 PM »
 I run NTSC games, and the ones who are with the borders are ones like.

 Paper Mario 64 ( who I already has the original cartridge and it is normal )
 Turok games,
 Conker's Bad Fur Day
 Smash bros ( same as PM 64)
 and others more, who I don't recall now but I will place them here as I'll seing more.

Offline FeverDrive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1299
  • Karma: +54/-0
  • Blast Processing advocate
    • View Profile
Re: Black borders on the screen
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2016, 12:23 AM »
Try changing your TV settings, it depends on model.
WELCO
METOT
HENEX
TLEVEL

Offline Junninx

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Black borders on the screen
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2016, 05:15 AM »
 My system is PAL-
 and my tv runs NTSC, PAL-M and PAL-N

 Banjo Kazooie has a big black border on the left side...

 and others games just like banjo tooie, conker bad fur, star fox, smash, mario tennis.

 Can someone tell me if the banjo kazooie runs normal on yours tv or it has some black borders?
_______________

 Never mind I just figured out that the real hardware has it too.

 And CRT tvs has the overscan function and this fix it.

 And as I was playing on a LCD tv, then  the borders shows up.
« Last Edit: September 04, 2016, 09:57 AM by Junninx »