Author Topic: Black screen on Pilotwings  (Read 4403 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jjoepr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Black screen on Pilotwings
« on: November 09, 2016, 07:25 AM »
I updated to firmware 1.7d now I just started to play pilotwings on my ntsc SNES and selected light plane and the screen goes black and music loops. Anyone had this happen? Also noticed that on qbert3 level 3 the level graphics are a garbled mess.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2016, 08:29 AM by jjoepr »

Offline FeverDrive

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1299
  • Karma: +54/-0
  • Blast Processing advocate
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen on Pilotwings
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2016, 07:17 AM »
Is your SD2SNES from Krikzz manufacturing or Chinese?
WELCO
METOT
HENEX
TLEVEL

Offline dvd2vcd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1784
  • Karma: +156/-116
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen on Pilotwings
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2016, 01:05 PM »
make sure in game hooks is off, usually sorts out glitches.
ED64 v2.5 - MEGAED X7 - TED v2.4 - SD2SNES rev F - EDN8 fami - EDGB X7 rev B

Offline jjoepr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen on Pilotwings
« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2016, 06:19 AM »
Bought from Krikzz Will try hook off, thnx.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2016, 06:21 AM by jjoepr »

Offline jjoepr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen on Pilotwings
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2016, 08:06 AM »
Hook on or off is the same thing. Tried at least three pilotwings roms, all black screen. Qbert 3 is still a garbled mess on level 3 with and without in game hooks. Hyper street kart locks up on the hacked capcom logo. Still testing more roms to see what I find. My everdrives and sd2snes I bought straight from krikzz. Chinese knock offs are 1000% crap so I always get the real deal. My SNES is us ntsc and my firmware is the latest 1.7d.

Offline jjoepr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen on Pilotwings
« Reply #5 on: November 11, 2016, 08:13 AM »
Forgot to mention the red light stays on when trying to run pilotwings.

Offline ikari_01

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
  • Karma: +80/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen on Pilotwings
« Reply #6 on: November 11, 2016, 10:15 AM »
I don't know about q*bert but for pilotwings and SMK/Hyper Street Kart, which are DSP1 games, you need the DSP ROMs. See https://sd2snes.de/blog/faq section Q3 ;)

Offline ikari_01

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
  • Karma: +80/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen on Pilotwings
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2016, 10:43 AM »
With q*bert 3 do you mean stage 1-3 or 3-1?  ;D

Offline jjoepr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen on Pilotwings
« Reply #8 on: November 11, 2016, 09:02 PM »
Hmmmm. I got the dsp roms but will re download just to be sure. Qbert 3. I meant level 1-3. 😐 will redownload all dsp just in case. Been moving and adding stuff to my sd card so maybe the files got messed up who knows.

Offline jjoepr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 78
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Black screen on Pilotwings
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2016, 09:59 AM »
Thanks for the reply ikari. Seems re downloading and re installing dsp files fixed it  :P thanks 🙏.