Author Topic: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country  (Read 6181 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pickleloaf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« on: December 10, 2017, 06:37 PM »
From the very first stage, I have found that the backgrounds on some stages are entirely glitched. They still scroll as normal, but just appear as a mess of colored pixels.

Not every stage is like this. It is some jungle stages, seemingly every "cave" stage and every boss stage that would have the piles of bananas in the background. The game is completely playable otherwise.

I have seen a thread about glitches in this game:
https://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topic=5669.0
but I'm not sure this is the same. It's only the backgrounds and only on certain stages.

I have tried multiple roms and multiple roms of Super Donkey Kong and all are the same. I have also not noticed anything like this on other games I have played.

I've also tried turning off hooks per this page:
https://sd2snes.de/blog/compatibility/in-game-hook-compatibility

I can't really tell if anything is happening when I press the button combinations, but it does not change the background issue.

I'm using a Super Famicom, and my SD2SNES firmware is up to date.

Anyone else seen this issue?
Thanks!


Offline pickleloaf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2017, 06:46 PM »



Offline ozzy2k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2017, 06:51 PM »
Do you have the retail copy of the game?
Did you run the diagnostics firmware for SD2SNES to exclude the flashcard?
https://sd2snes.de/blog/cool-stuff/sd2snes-diagnostics

Run the SNES burn-in test cartridge (Unknown) (Rev D) to exclude defective chips on your SNES.

Which chip revisions does your SNES have?
You can check this with Lion King in the Option Menu and the Barry Code.

Offline fille1976

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2017, 08:14 PM »
try without ingame buttons

Offline pickleloaf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2017, 08:33 PM »
i don't have a retail copy of the game to try

everything on the diag test seems to pass. i am attaching the text file from that.

the burn in test had something fail. i dont know what it means. is my SFC busted?



lion king says
CPU: 2
PPU1: 1
PPU2: 3

Offline pickleloaf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2017, 08:34 PM »
try without ingame buttons

I think I turned that off, but I cant tell since nothing happens when I press L+R+Start+Y

Offline pickleloaf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2017, 09:09 PM »
took a video of the burn in test so i could catch a couple things that weren't staying on the screen before the screenshot above

i guess there's something wrong with my system, but i don't understand any of this stuff

 :(




Offline pickleloaf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2017, 09:15 PM »
checking out this page

http://www.projectvb.com/nss/logs.htm

looks like the high fail for me is VRAM, but it isn't displaying properly

DMA fail and VRAM high fail on that page seemed to be resolved by replacing CPU and/or PPU which is most definitely out of my knowledge and comfort level.

bleh

Offline Captain318

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #8 on: December 10, 2017, 11:55 PM »
Failing PPU's are getting pretty common on the Rev 1 SNES consoles. Ive personally had 3 cross my path in the last few years. This for some reason seams far less likely on the Rev 2 and up models ie the models w/o detachable sound cards

Offline pickleloaf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2017, 03:38 AM »
A couple of possiblymaybeprobablyyes dumb questions

- could this be caused by an improper power supply?

- can anyone tell by looking at this if there is a certain layer or type of graphic affected? The reason I ask that is that I’d like to test other games to look for similar anomalies. Are these things I could look for? I have not seen this i any other game I’ve played on this particular system

Offline pickleloaf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2017, 03:38 AM »
Also, given the results I have here, will this issue most likely worsen?

Offline ozzy2k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #11 on: December 14, 2017, 01:41 PM »
- could this be caused by an improper power supply?

It could be have you test another psu with the console?

Offline pickleloaf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #12 on: December 14, 2017, 06:56 PM »
I don’t, but I just ordered an extra official Genesis model 1 adapter on eBay - I’ve read those are ok?

Offline bakageta

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2017, 08:59 PM »
The Genesis adapter is fine for a super famicom, but I really don't think this is a power issue. It looks like a failing PPU, and that generally means just replacing the entire system. It's repairable, but only by cannibalizing another working system, and at that point you might as well just use the other system.

Offline pickleloaf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: background glitches on Donkey Kong Country
« Reply #14 on: December 16, 2017, 12:10 AM »
Cool thank you

Is there a way to spot a model online that may help to avoid this issue again?