Author Topic: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES? [NO!]  (Read 44195 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rocketblast

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #75 on: July 02, 2018, 08:59 PM »
Hoping to see pre-releases soon.  Great work.  :)

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #76 on: July 03, 2018, 09:40 AM »
Hoping to see pre-releases soon.  Great work.  :)

It won't be for some time, it's a lot of work, slow and steady wins the race, as they say, heh

Offline MockyLock

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 684
  • Karma: +25/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #77 on: July 03, 2018, 12:18 PM »
Well, ReGuyyy did already surprise a lot of people how fast he made FX possible.
So, well, wait and see :D

EDIT : 666 posts !
« Last Edit: July 03, 2018, 12:24 PM by MockyLock »

Offline Greg2600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #78 on: July 04, 2018, 12:15 AM »
Hoping to see pre-releases soon.  Great work.  :)

It won't be for some time, it's a lot of work, slow and steady wins the race, as they say, heh

You've certainly been far from Nostradamus on this subject!   ;D

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #79 on: July 04, 2018, 01:16 AM »
Hoping to see pre-releases soon.  Great work.  :)

It won't be for some time, it's a lot of work, slow and steady wins the race, as they say, heh

You've certainly been far from Nostradamus on this subject!   ;D

It's nice to be so loved on here  ::)
Well, I don't want people to give the impression that they have to try beta builds of SA-1 now?  I want Redguy to take his time.

Offline FrenchyToasty

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #80 on: July 05, 2018, 05:15 AM »
I understand that you are eager and can't barely contain your excitement, I've seen that on GBATemp too few times already!

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #81 on: July 05, 2018, 09:30 AM »
I understand that you are eager and can't barely contain your excitement, I've seen that on GBATemp too few times already!

Excuse me? ???

Offline Greg2600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #82 on: July 05, 2018, 05:57 PM »
Well, you dismissed SA-1 attempts for the last several weeks, first saying it wouldn't fit on the FPGA, then nobody was working on it, then it's gonna take quite a while for a beta, etc, etc.  I just poked fun at your lack of success in prognosticating. 

Offline James-F

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
  • Karma: +29/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #83 on: July 05, 2018, 06:09 PM »
Well he is not called the randomizer for nothing.  ;D
Mega Everdrive x5, Everdrive 64 v3, Everdrive N8, N8 Pro, SD2SNES, Joyzz.

Offline FrenchyToasty

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #84 on: July 05, 2018, 06:13 PM »
That's what happen when you're impatient, you jump to conclusions based on posts by people who speak through their hats and know nothing. Wait for the pros to handle things and then enjoy!

I never dismissed that the guys would be able to get SA-1 working nor Super FX, I mean there are truly gifted programmers out there, they just have their lives arround these projects, like the Saturn Satisfier, it's slowly being made but it's coming.

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #85 on: July 05, 2018, 07:18 PM »
Okay, I get it, I made a mistake, sheesh. Sooo sorry for being human.  :-\ I'm not the one who originally said SA-1 wouldn't fit on the FPGA.  Well, I'd best take a break from here for a while, people sure love calling me out.  :'(

Offline Relikk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
  • Karma: +32/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #86 on: July 05, 2018, 08:04 PM »
Don't concern yourself with the opinions of nobodies on the internet. Just do your thing.

Offline Sarge

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #87 on: July 05, 2018, 08:07 PM »
I'm going to take the_randomizer's side here.  No one knew if it work or not.  The fact that Redguy has apparently managed to nearly pull it off, despite years of ikari expressing his doubts that it would ever happen, isn't proof that he was right or wrong.  There's no sense in crowing about someone being "right" or "wrong" when there were absolutely serious doubts whether it could be done from the experts.
Hardcore Retro Gaming - Discuss games ten years old or older! Now with a modern gaming section!

http://hardcoreretrogaming.boards.net/

Offline dreimer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
  • Karma: +23/-0
    • View Profile
    • Reimi's Blog
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #88 on: July 05, 2018, 09:17 PM »
https://sd2snes.de/blog/status nowhere a NOPE, does not fit @SA-1. But to help the other side, too: Even jwdonal from VeriSNES project said it will be a rough ride to make it fit on our FPGA if you plan to fully support it. It was more or less obvious that the probability would become still rough but waay better that some games might be tricked to run by skipping the stuff no game ever used. What redguy will skip if there is something to skip at all, we will see, when he releases his work.

Offline FrenchyToasty

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #89 on: July 05, 2018, 11:02 PM »
I was merely pointing it out, don't want to come off as aggressive or to "call the_randomizer out".