Author Topic: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES!  (Read 6493 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline redguy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • Karma: +148/-0
    • View Profile
Here's a small status update.

Is sa1 being worked on?
- Yes.

Is it going to fit?
- Maybe.  We won't know until it's further along.

Is msu going to fit?
- Assume no, but we won't know until it's done.  It doesn't fit right now.

What about supporting multiple files with different features?
- I'm not interested in supporting this, but the code will have #defines for those who want to compile a version for themselves.

What currently works?
- smrpg has been played through to the end.
- kirby super star has several hours on it.
- super mario legacy and the other sa1 smw hacks are playable.
- Most other games boot, but have limited testing.
- A small set of hacks and games don't work at all.
- All games have bugs.

Will there be a beta?
- Yes.

When will the beta be released?
- ...

When will it be done?
- ...

Most of the sa1 features are implemented, but it's difficult to fit both the debugging code and all the features at the same time.  The debugging code is a huge help for fixing bugs.  I'm currently rewriting major parts to both free up some space and also fix slowdowns.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2018, 07:43 AM by goombakid »

Offline Sarge

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2018, 06:12 AM »
Thank you for the update, redguy, and all your hard work!
Hardcore Retro Gaming - Discuss games ten years old or older!

http://hardcoreretrogaming.boards.net/

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2018, 06:36 AM »
Do what you must, Redguy, you've got this  8)

Offline Jdurg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2018, 08:02 AM »
Just... wow.  Knowing just enough about what's going on to severely mess things up, this update is pretty sweet.  Wow.  I patiently await the updates.

Offline AlxUnderBase

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.soundcloud.com/alexunderbase
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #4 on: July 17, 2018, 09:24 AM »
Huge step ! Thank you ! :)
MEGAED X7 - SD2SNES rev F - EVERDRIVE-64 v3 - EVERDRIVE N8 Fam - NeoSD AES - SSS3 - PSIO

Offline hex12

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2018, 09:34 AM »
In the discordapp discussion about Sd2snes someone is also talking about S-DD1. I didn't understand if someone is implementing also this chip or if it is only a discussion about chip structure. Someone that is accessing more deeply that discussion can help me to understand? Thank you.

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2018, 06:26 PM »
In the discordapp discussion about Sd2snes someone is also talking about S-DD1. I didn't understand if someone is implementing also this chip or if it is only a discussion about chip structure. Someone that is accessing more deeply that discussion can help me to understand? Thank you.

I'd rather just SA-1 be implemented before S-DD1, just saying.  S-DD1 is what, only used for two games?

Offline Kobras

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2018, 06:57 PM »
And one of them is as arcade port which also exist on Playstation 1, Saturn and is on a Playstation 2 compilation and on a PS4/X-box one/switch compilation
« Last Edit: July 17, 2018, 09:24 PM by Kobras »

Offline justindarc

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2018, 07:42 PM »
And one of them is as arcade port which also exist on Playstation 1, Saturn ans is on a Playstation 2 compilation and on a PS4/X-box one/switch compilation

And the other already has a patch to run without the S-DD1.

Offline brianvgplayer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2018, 09:28 PM »
Thanks for the update! Out of curiosity, do PGA European Tour and PGA Tour 96 boot? Both aren't worth bothering with if they don't, but I'm curious about their questionable usage of the SA-1.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2018, 09:30 PM by brianvgplayer »

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2018, 10:44 PM »
And one of them is as arcade port which also exist on Playstation 1, Saturn ans is on a Playstation 2 compilation and on a PS4/X-box one/switch compilation

And the other already has a patch to run without the S-DD1.

So really, there's no need to implement the S-DD1 chip, Street Fighter Alpha 2 on Snes isn't the best way to play. Star Ocean, like what you said, has a 96 megabit ROM hack that plays without S-DD1 fine.

Offline SteelRush

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2018, 11:26 PM »
I would guess that working on these chips such as S-DD1 is more a point of research, rather than focusing on playability.  Those who are interested in the technical aspect care more about learning, and playability is just a byproduct.

Offline Sarge

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #12 on: July 17, 2018, 11:36 PM »
I think someone also mentioned that other translated versions don't have a 96 Mb version available as well.
Hardcore Retro Gaming - Discuss games ten years old or older!

http://hardcoreretrogaming.boards.net/

Offline opt2not

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2018, 01:08 AM »
In the discordapp discussion about Sd2snes someone is also talking about S-DD1. I didn't understand if someone is implementing also this chip or if it is only a discussion about chip structure. Someone that is accessing more deeply that discussion can help me to understand? Thank you.

I'd rather just SA-1 be implemented before S-DD1, just saying.  S-DD1 is what, only used for two games?
And 1 of those games has already been patched out so you can play it on the SD2SNES.

Offline EverDriver

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 493
  • Karma: +42/-0
  • support
    • View Profile
Re: It IS physically possible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2018, 01:17 AM »
redguy

Thank you very much for your hard and very cool work!
Our jaws haven't restored yet after the previous massive drop but you don't cease to amaze us!
Please have mercy (: