Author Topic: So how does the Megakey work?  (Read 3195 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline EBJ7

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
So how does the Megakey work?
« on: October 13, 2018, 06:42 AM »
I have a Model 1 NTSC Genesis, when I try to load Golden Axe 3 I get the Region Lockout screen. There is no other hardware like the 32x connected, and even when I try to set the region to Japan and start it, I get the error, thing is I tried Mega Man Wily Wars which is a EU game and it works fine? Does MegaKey on the X7 only work on certain games?

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 796
  • Karma: +45/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: So how does the Megakey work?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2018, 11:19 AM »
MegaKey attempts to bypass region lockout

when its fails

you can use game genie code to bypass region lockout
https://gamehacking.org/game/15200
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
SNES jr | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance | SGB v1 | PCE+SSD3

Offline James-F

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
  • Karma: +29/-0
    • View Profile
Re: So how does the Megakey work?
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2018, 07:53 AM »
Change region to JAP for Golden Axe 3.
Mega Everdrive x5, Everdrive 64 v3, Everdrive N8, N8 Pro, SD2SNES, Joyzz.

Offline Shentok

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: So how does the Megakey work?
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2018, 05:24 AM »
Specifically, load the rom without starting the game. Then go to the options and choose the region then start the game.