Author Topic: [release] alternative ED64 Menu  (Read 256354 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline saturnu

  • ヽ(^o^)丿
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1181
  • Karma: +156/-0
    • View Profile
    • :D
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #255 on: September 29, 2015, 06:00 PM »
nope ^^

Offline iwasaperson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #256 on: October 03, 2015, 01:48 AM »
nope ^^

That sucks. I really wanted to play 64DD games and have an open source menu.
@Syboxez on Discord and some other places as well.

Offline chrisw80

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #257 on: October 12, 2015, 01:35 AM »
Is there anywhere I can find a working download? Would like to try this.

Offline bit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #258 on: October 18, 2015, 03:46 PM »
Is anyone able to reupload alt64_v1823.zip? The link doesn't seem to work.

Offline Kerr Avon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1505
  • Karma: +145/-3
    • View Profile
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #259 on: October 18, 2015, 05:25 PM »
If either of you (or anyone else) wants the file alt64_v1823.zip then pm me your e-mail address and I'll send it.

Offline Trevor

  • Goldfinger64 Dev Location:UK
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Everdrive64 v2 (PAL)
    • View Profile

Offline chrisw80

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #261 on: October 20, 2015, 12:45 AM »
^Thank you.

Offline Koyuki

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #262 on: November 07, 2015, 10:18 PM »
can someone help me to make a wallpaper for the ED64 altmenu?

that one with the anime girl is really annoying, and I cant make it appears for the alt menu...

I use this one for the krikzz OS - http://s17.postimg.org/mlycyvxf3/majora3d.png

What do I have to to, besides save it at 320x240 png format and name it as bg_01.png ???

Offline Trevor

  • Goldfinger64 Dev Location:UK
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Everdrive64 v2 (PAL)
    • View Profile
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #263 on: November 08, 2015, 09:36 PM »
Original OS (2.10) is 16bit 640x480 bmp, Alt64 is 320x320 32bit png.

As far as I know, there is nothing else needed, although I have not changed it.

Id assume that either new 640x480x32 images will be needed for the new menu in development, or it will simply upscale 320x240 ones.

Original OS down-scales 640 ones in lo-res mode.

Trev

Offline Koyuki

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #264 on: November 08, 2015, 11:14 PM »
Original OS (2.10) is 16bit 640x480 bmp, Alt64 is 320x320 32bit png.

As far as I know, there is nothing else needed, although I have not changed it.

Id assume that either new 640x480x32 images will be needed for the new menu in development, or it will simply upscale 320x240 ones.

Original OS down-scales 640 ones in lo-res mode.

Trev


I made it as a PNG format RGB and added a layer for alpha channel, so 8+8+8+8 = 32 bit

The wallpaper showed now, I had to add the alpha channel to make it work

Also, the alt OS is nice for the covers, but this low resolution is really bad . Thanks anyway

« Last Edit: November 08, 2015, 11:56 PM by Koyuki »

Offline saturnu

  • ヽ(^o^)丿
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1181
  • Karma: +156/-0
    • View Profile
    • :D
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #265 on: November 11, 2015, 04:24 PM »
i seems like there is a need for a complete rewrite, so alt64 v1.8.24 is cancelled and v1.8.23 is the last one of this series.
maybe there is a new alternative os on the horizon, that's technically is based on the original os but has a different gui and some special featues. ^^

Offline Trevor

  • Goldfinger64 Dev Location:UK
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Everdrive64 v2 (PAL)
    • View Profile
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #266 on: November 11, 2015, 07:50 PM »
Oh, complete re-write?

So the new one will be a v2 series?

Hmm, wounder what the special features are :P sounds interesting.

Trev

Offline rimmyjustles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #267 on: December 29, 2015, 09:20 PM »
OP I'm not asking you to do this since you said you're not working on it anymore but given with what brilliant stuff you've done so far, could you have also somehow implemented something where a the ED right after it boots goes straight to the rom, rather than showing a menu?  Kind of like having it act like a real cart?  Just curious.  I'm in no way interested in doing this for repro reselling purposes; that's ridiculous to begin with since I'd technically be paying 150+ for a donor cart lol.  This is functionality I've wanted for N8 as well but it does not seem to exist.

Offline Trevor

  • Goldfinger64 Dev Location:UK
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 191
  • Karma: +5/-0
  • Everdrive64 v2 (PAL)
    • View Profile
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #268 on: January 01, 2016, 01:36 PM »
I still dont get why or even how this would work.
Re-setting is how to change game. if you change it to re-start the game how would you change?
It doesnt take that long to hold "Start" to restart last played game.

Ive seen people say its for "Speedruns", they should either use an original cart, or if its a mod, then everyone is in the same boat anyway.
Not only that, why do speedruns include downtime anyway?

Trev

Offline aterraformer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [release] alternative ED64 Menu
« Reply #269 on: January 05, 2016, 01:02 AM »
For games like Ocarina of Time for instance, saving and resetting is fastest in sections.  I would imagine this would be similar for hacks, even if only like 2 work so far.  The way the SD2SNES works is that you reset to reset the game, then power cycle to get to the menu.  It works fine for me, especially if I want to reset my lives in say a Super Mario World hack for instance or if I was ever to speedrun one of them.  I wasn't really aware holding the start button reset though so this might be a better solution.