Author Topic: Can't get sd2snes booted  (Read 2045 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline forge33

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Can't get sd2snes booted
« on: September 11, 2018, 08:49 PM »
Bought it from retrogate a while ago, and every once in a while i come back to get this thing working but it doesn't seem to get past a certain step.

https://imgur.com/a/csfDn72

Seems to be regardless of sd card, bios, etc. I can never get past a step where the green light is solid, and the yellow light is solid. Nothing is displayed on screen.

Tried in my snes and also in my retron 3, same problem both times.

my current sd card, new from package is a Kingston sdhc 16gb class 10
fat 32 formatted

it's also a new battery

« Last Edit: September 12, 2018, 08:11 PM by forge33 »

Offline forge33

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get sd2snes booted
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2018, 04:59 PM »
Just wondering if anybody had any suggestions/tests/comments/threats?

Offline OneBagTravel

  • Sony KV-20FV300
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Has the Perrier gone straight to my head?
    • View Profile
    • OneBagTravel.com
Re: Can't get sd2snes booted
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2018, 05:44 PM »
my current sd card, new from package is a Kingston sdhc 16gb class 10
fat 32 formatted
Damn, I was gonna blame it on the SD card/format but it sounds like you've got a proper setup. The only other thing I can think of is how your files are arranged. all of the system files should be inside a folder on the root of the SD card named SD2SNES. If this is how you currently have it, you might need to return the card.
Travel light & smart. SFC using HD Retrovision component cables.

Offline rafaelalvesals

  • Hue Hue BR BR
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 359
  • Karma: +19/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get sd2snes booted
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2018, 07:31 PM »
Did you tried an older OS ?

Offline forge33

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get sd2snes booted
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2018, 09:06 PM »
I have tried an older OS, I think i've gone back to 0.1.4.

I do have them in a folder called `sd2snes`, however this is lowercase. would case matter?

Offline OneBagTravel

  • Sony KV-20FV300
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Has the Perrier gone straight to my head?
    • View Profile
    • OneBagTravel.com
Re: Can't get sd2snes booted
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2018, 09:15 PM »
I have tried an older OS, I think i've gone back to 0.1.4.

I do have them in a folder called `sd2snes`, however this is lowercase. would case matter?
No, case doesn't matter.
Travel light & smart. SFC using HD Retrovision component cables.

Offline forge33

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get sd2snes booted
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2018, 01:34 AM »
Here's more information
Code: [Select]
# fdisk -l /dev/mmcblk0
Disk /dev/mmcblk0: 14.8 GiB, 15819866112 bytes, 30898176 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

Device         Boot Start      End  Sectors  Size Id Type
/dev/mmcblk0p1       8192 30898175 30889984 14.7G  c W95 FAT32 (LBA)

Code: [Select]
# file -sL /dev/mmcblk0p1
/dev/mmcblk0p1: DOS/MBR boot sector, code offset 0x0+2, OEM-ID "        ", sectors/cluster 64, reserved sectors 652, Media descriptor 0xf8, sectors/track 63, heads 255, hidden sectors 8192, sectors 30889984 (volumes > 32 MB), FAT (32 bit), sectors/FAT 3770, reserved 0x1, serial number 0x90164ef8, unlabeled

Code: [Select]
dmesg
[ 1854.008224] mmc0: new high speed SDHC card at address 59b4
[ 1854.008544] mmcblk0: mmc0:59b4 SD16G 14.7 GiB
[ 1854.009496]  mmcblk0: p1

Code: [Select]
# mount
/dev/mmcblk0p1 on /media/forge33/9016-4EF8 type vfat (rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1000,fmask=0022,dmask=0022,codepage=437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,showexec,utf8,flush,errors=remount-ro,uhelper=udisks2)

and file list:
Code: [Select]
sd2snes
sd2snes/bsxpage.bin
sd2snes/firmware.img
sd2snes/fpga_base.bit
sd2snes/fpga_cx4.bit
sd2snes/fpga_gsu.bit
sd2snes/fpga_obc1.bit
sd2snes/menu.bin
sd2snes/cx4.data.rom
sd2snes/cx4.rom
sd2snes/dsp1.data.rom
sd2snes/dsp1.program.rom
sd2snes/dsp1.rom
sd2snes/dsp1b.data.rom
sd2snes/dsp1b.program.rom
sd2snes/dsp1b.rom
sd2snes/dsp2.data.rom
sd2snes/dsp2.program.rom
sd2snes/dsp2.rom
sd2snes/dsp3.data.rom
sd2snes/dsp3.program.rom
sd2snes/dsp3.rom
sd2snes/dsp4.data.rom
sd2snes/dsp4.program.rom
sd2snes/dsp4.rom
sd2snes/sgb.boot.rom
sd2snes/st010.data.rom
sd2snes/st010.program.rom
sd2snes/st010.rom
sd2snes/st011.data.rom
sd2snes/st011.program.rom
sd2snes/st011.rom
sd2snes/st018.data.rom
sd2snes/st018.program.rom
sd2snes/st018.rom
sd2snes/fpga_sa1.bit
sd2snes_diag
sd2snes_diag/bsxpage.bin
sd2snes_diag/firmware.img
sd2snes_diag/fpga_base.bit
sd2snes_diag/fpga_cx4.bit
sd2snes_diag/fpga_gsu.bit
sd2snes_diag/fpga_obc1.bit
sd2snes_diag/menu.bin
sd2snes_diag/dmatest.bin
sd2snes_diag/cx4.data.rom
sd2snes_diag/cx4.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp1.data.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp1.program.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp1.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp1b.data.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp1b.program.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp1b.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp2.data.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp2.program.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp2.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp3.data.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp3.program.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp3.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp4.data.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp4.program.rom
sd2snes_diag/dsp4.rom
sd2snes_diag/sgb.boot.rom
sd2snes_diag/st010.data.rom
sd2snes_diag/st010.program.rom
sd2snes_diag/st010.rom
sd2snes_diag/st011.data.rom
sd2snes_diag/st011.program.rom
sd2snes_diag/st011.rom
sd2snes_diag/st018.data.rom
sd2snes_diag/st018.program.rom
sd2snes_diag/st018.rom
sd2snes_diag/test.bin
sd2snes_diag/test.bit
roms
roms/Chrono_Trigger.sfc

Code: [Select]
# badblocks -v /dev/mmcblk0
Checking blocks 0 to 15449087
Checking for bad blocks (read-only test):
done                                                 
Pass completed, 0 bad blocks found. (0/0/0 errors)

This is the card I'm using
https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B0064Z71T8/ref=twister_B00C9ATFQY?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

edit: adding url and bad blocks
« Last Edit: September 25, 2018, 02:22 AM by forge33 »

Offline forge33

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get sd2snes booted
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2018, 03:18 AM »
Here's a video of the behaviour

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NoO-7-g_TpE

A fellow member gave me a suggested packed version of sd2snes, sa-1 of redguy v6, and gsu (sfx).

No dice, still the above behaviour

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 699
  • Karma: +40/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: Can't get sd2snes booted
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2018, 04:35 AM »
you buy sd2snes without shell?

if so you might
damage / short circuit / shock
one of component on sd2snes
ED64 v2.0 & v3.0 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A
Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance | SGB v1 | PCE+SSD3

Offline forge33

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get sd2snes booted
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2018, 07:22 AM »
my sd2snes has a case, I had to take it off to see what the LED's indicated since I don't see them with the case on.

Pictures are attached for inspection in the original post

Offline ikari_01

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
  • Karma: +80/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't get sd2snes booted
« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2018, 10:31 AM »
You could try putting the file system on card directly (without a partition table) but I doubt it would make a difference, FATFS should be able to detect both.
Are you getting an error message, like "No SD Card found!" on screen when you turn it on without a card inserted?