Author Topic: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?  (Read 7263 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Sarge

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 319
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #15 on: January 05, 2019, 07:32 AM »
Mesen also works fine.
Hardcore Retro Gaming - Discuss games ten years old or older! Now with a modern gaming section!

http://hardcoreretrogaming.boards.net/

Offline F34R

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #16 on: January 05, 2019, 07:25 PM »
Yeah, it works fine in Mesen. 

I'm at a point where I can play the Sim City game lol.  So, just using the NT Mini, the graph charts, and the other screens I posted, are perfectly viewable.  So I took snapshots of the graph pages, etc., and printed them out lol.  With the N8 Everdrive, the actual gameplay itself is doable in the same way that the other parts the NT Mini shows correctly.  So, I can play the building portion using the EDN8, and refer to the printed papers from the NT Mini portion that works correctly lol.

That's a temp solution while it gets worked on.  Kevtris said he'll work on it when he has time, but he's still in deep with Analogue stuff right now.  I'm waiting on my eproms and a famicom cart for Uncharted Waters and I'll do some surgery to have a playable cart lol.

Offline supersign

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile

Offline scx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #18 on: February 06, 2019, 04:36 PM »
@superbite fix94 is a legend, i will test this mapper, any problems thus far?

Offline supersign

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #19 on: February 06, 2019, 05:02 PM »
I currently don't have a N8 so I can't say, but his video popped up on my feed so I thought I'll share it here because this may help.

Offline scx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #20 on: February 06, 2019, 09:59 PM »
Ill try it tonight, plus figure out if OS 20 is stable or not on my n8 lol

What we have to appreciate is the guy is a newbie to verilog and pulled it off, I've done similar resolving RAS/CAS issues on a verilog open source project - it's not impossible to learn verilog and fix issues quickly but impressive to see how quickly he's fixed it in his youtube videos it took him a matter of days, he should continue to fix other games :)
« Last Edit: February 06, 2019, 10:22 PM by scx »

Offline nastc1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #21 on: February 06, 2019, 11:09 PM »
Right now i'm at my desk at work so I cannot watch the video as Youtube is blocked. Does he use an altered rom? Or did he alter the OS on the N8?? I have an NT mini that I would like to get this working on. Every game I tried works perfectly but Sim City I get the usual random scrambling.

Offline supersign

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #22 on: February 06, 2019, 11:22 PM »
Edited mapper for the N8.
« Last Edit: February 06, 2019, 11:34 PM by superbite »

Offline nastc1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #23 on: February 06, 2019, 11:27 PM »
The mapper on the N8? or altered the rom?

Offline nastc1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #24 on: February 06, 2019, 11:50 PM »
Edited mapper for the N8.

Ahh ok, did any other games use the same mapper as Sim City? Did altering it break any of the other games. This is interesting.

Offline supersign

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Karma: +17/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #25 on: February 07, 2019, 12:05 AM »
Ahh ok, did any other games use the same mapper as Sim City? Did altering it break any of the other games. This is interesting.
According to nesdev wiki, it's needed for:

Castlevania 3
Just Breed
Uncharted Waters
Romance of the Three Kingdoms II
Laser Invasion
Metal Slader Glory
Uchuu Keibitai SDF
Shin 4 Nin Uchi Mahjong - Yakuman Tengoku
Bandit Kings of Ancient China
« Last Edit: February 07, 2019, 03:17 PM by superbite »

Offline scx

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #26 on: February 07, 2019, 01:15 AM »
Even if it did break . Which we have yet to confirm...  can’t a rom be say allocated to an alternative mapped and then rename said mapper ? If so that would be a resonable solution however of course making a mapper work for all the ROMs that depend on it is best if possible! Guess we need to test

Offline MHzBurglar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #27 on: February 11, 2019, 11:33 PM »
I tested the Fix94 MMC5 mapper on my Everdrive N8 running OS 20 RC7 and it works perfectly with SimCity!

I also tested Castlevania III with the fix94 mapper and it also seemed to work perfectly (though I only played through the beginning village.)

Offline leonquest

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 445
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #28 on: March 11, 2019, 09:19 PM »
I tested the Fix94 MMC5 mapper on my Everdrive N8 running OS 20 RC7 and it works perfectly with SimCity!

I also tested Castlevania III with the fix94 mapper and it also seemed to work perfectly (though I only played through the beginning village.)

Awesome! now if only someone found a way to split the translated Metal Slader Glory rom to make it playable on the N8...

sorry to derail the topic.
Everdrive64 V3 - SD2Snes rev. f - Everdrive N8 fami - MegaEd X3 - PS IO - MODE - MISTer

Offline F34R

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SimCity Proto Released. Any chance for a fix?
« Reply #29 on: July 22, 2019, 05:37 PM »
Ahh ok, did any other games use the same mapper as Sim City? Did altering it break any of the other games. This is interesting.
According to nesdev wiki, it's needed for:

Castlevania 3
Just Breed
Uncharted Waters
Romance of the Three Kingdoms II
Laser Invasion
Metal Slader Glory
Uchuu Keibitai SDF
Shin 4 Nin Uchi Mahjong - Yakuman Tengoku
Bandit Kings of Ancient China

These are now working, along with Sim City, with the mapper update Krikzz posted on Twitter.  I'm using v16 firmware.