Author Topic: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right  (Read 4556 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lemony Vengeance

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« on: December 29, 2018, 11:37 AM »
Hey all, Just got a new SD2SNES! I used smokemoster's tool to compile the roms and fired her up, but was met with this in the menu





I attempted to update it to 1.9 but was met with this:



I'm kind of at a loss.. any help would be appreciated.

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 782
  • Karma: +45/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2018, 06:14 PM »
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A
Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance | SGB v1 | PCE+SSD3

Offline opt2not

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2018, 12:35 AM »
 ::) The less snarky response would be “check the directory structure”.

Hi Lemony  :)

Offline Lemony Vengeance

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2018, 01:29 AM »
try search the forum
http://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topic=8230.0

Thanks mate :)

Hey Opt2Not! :D how the hell are ya?

Offline opt2not

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2018, 07:40 AM »
Good, brotha! How you been? Haven’t seen you around the other forums in a while. Did you take a break?
Glad to see got the SD2SNES, it’s fantastic. If you need any more help, feel free to pm me. I’ve been happy with my cart for a few years now, and can help you as best I can.
The members here get quite snarky to new members asking for tech support (even if it’s the whole point of this forum). ;)

Offline Lemony Vengeance

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #5 on: December 30, 2018, 08:09 AM »
Good, brotha! How you been? Haven’t seen you around the other forums in a while. Did you take a break?
Glad to see got the SD2SNES, it’s fantastic. If you need any more help, feel free to pm me. I’ve been happy with my cart for a few years now, and can help you as best I can.
The members here get quite snarky to new members asking for tech support (even if it’s the whole point of this forum). ;)


Yeah, I took a bit of a break. I needed to.. life backhanded me like cray and I had to take care of me for a while. I talked about it a bit on the neo forum so if you're curious, head on over to see what's been happening.


Totally understand the mentality of support forums. Working in IT and having been exposed to open source environments more and more there's a "I figured it out, so you should too and I'm not going to help you so get on my level" mind set. it creates tribal knowledge and I don't like it.

So, onto the subject at hand:

The previous post says it's a directory structure issue, but even if I'm just trying to update the firmware per the instructions here https://sd2snes.de/blog/downloads:


Quote
Download the zip file and extract to your SD card. Make sure the directory structure from the zip file is preserved, so you end up with a ‘sd2snes’ directory in the root of your SD card.
Insert the card into your sd2snes and turn on the SNES. sd2snes will update its firmware from the card and boot.
After updating you may delete the ‘firmware.img’ file. You may not delete any other files from the sd2snes directory.


it does nothing.. no notification that an update is occurring, nothing. Don't know if I'm supposed to be notified if an update is occurring or anything.

Even when I had my roms on the SD card and the sd2snes folder had the correct files in it I still get garbled text.. I even deleted the firmware.img file to no avail. here's a pic of my directory structure:




as you can see, the SD2SNES folder is in the root.




the needed files are all in the sd2snes (firmware.img was deleted previously, as mentioned).

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 782
  • Karma: +45/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2018, 08:52 AM »
you need
copy everything off sd card
format sd card Fat 32 with 32K
and copy sd2snes folder 1st
then copy each folder by one
to find bad folder

as sd2snes os does not support unicode text encoding
i suspect one of folder or file is not in ascii  text encoding
« Last Edit: December 30, 2018, 09:10 AM by lee4 »
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A
Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance | SGB v1 | PCE+SSD3

Offline Lemony Vengeance

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #7 on: December 30, 2018, 09:13 AM »
you need:

  • copy everything off sd card
    format sd card Fat 32 with 32K
    and copy sd2snes folder 1st
    then copy each folder by one to find bad folder

I performed steps 1-3,





then turned the sd2snes with just the 'sd2snes' folder (including the firmware.img file) in it.. same garbled text

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 782
  • Karma: +45/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #8 on: December 30, 2018, 09:18 AM »
Try again
leaving Volume Label blank
sd2snes folder with 1 game on root
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A
Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance | SGB v1 | PCE+SSD3

Offline Lemony Vengeance

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #9 on: December 30, 2018, 09:58 AM »
volume label is blank
added a single game in the root




I still have weird text issues, but the game loads properly


Offline Lemony Vengeance

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #10 on: December 30, 2018, 10:00 AM »
Try again
leaving Volume Label blank
sd2snes folder with 1 game on root

by the way, your assistance is MUCH appreciated!

Offline opt2not

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 87
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #11 on: December 30, 2018, 10:09 AM »
Hmm, just a few shots in the dark:

1. is your sd2snes folder writeable?

2. do you have another SD card you can try?

3. perhaps try cleaning the pins on the SD2SNES with Isopropanol? You never know, dust or dirt could be getting in the way.


Offline Lemony Vengeance

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2018, 11:11 AM »
Hmm, just a few shots in the dark:

1. is your sd2snes folder writeable?

2. do you have another SD card you can try?

3. perhaps try cleaning the pins on the SD2SNES with Isopropanol? You never know, dust or dirt could be getting in the way.

1. Yes
2. Yes, I've tried three different manufacturers :(
3. done, and no change :(

Offline goombakid

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1153
  • Karma: +74/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2018, 11:13 AM »
Sup, Lem! Hope things are well, man!

Are you using RGB to your PVM? Try using composite to test it out. Maybe something with the SD2SNES and RGB causing issues, possibly?

Here's an old thread that went over a video issue as well:

http://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topic=1451.0

the TL;DR of the thread was a power supply issue.

Offline Lemony Vengeance

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Brand new SD2SNES... main menu isn't looking right
« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2018, 01:18 PM »
Sup, Lem! Hope things are well, man!

Are you using RGB to your PVM? Try using composite to test it out. Maybe something with the SD2SNES and RGB causing issues, possibly?

Here's an old thread that went over a video issue as well:

http://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topic=1451.0

the TL;DR of the thread was a power supply issue.

Holy shit man, you're a mod? Right on!

OK. so you all know me as a bit of a tinkerer, yeah? Well I had a spare SNES floating around that I was gonna JAMMA-fy so I spent the last hour and made a JAMMA SNES, then tested the Cart with that. It worked. PERFECTLY.




:|

I don't think it's a PSU issue since I'm using a stock PSU.. and to be honest, I did notice some color and masking issues while Playing my Yoshi's island cart the other day (the 1st boss had transparent pants and the level scoreboards were BLACK instead of green with white text, so that is upsetting :/)

Looks like I'll be in the market for a new console :D
« Last Edit: December 30, 2018, 01:53 PM by Lemony Vengeance »