Author Topic: SD2SNES Pro  (Read 49829 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 758
  • Karma: +43/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #195 on: March 01, 2019, 05:54 AM »
for users curiosity about firmware compatibility

firmware 1.10.0 with S-DD1 and SD2SNES pro support.
https://sd2snes.de/blog/archives/1049

ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A
Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance | SGB v1 | PCE+SSD3

Offline rogerTrutman4ever

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #196 on: March 01, 2019, 11:04 AM »
I'm interested in the SD2snes Pro version.
I previously bought  2 SD2SNES....  Why ?
for the revisions of course !! ....I bought an A version and then an H version.

A simple question :
Do we have to wait  - again - for a stable revision, regarding sd2snes Pro version ?  :-\
I saw like everyone , the pictures of this new board.... I can  read " revision B".

Do we have to wait FEW MONTHS more and buy a "stable' revision (revision C , D ??) without any hidden troubles ??

SDSNES is a pricey  add on ...
Don't want to live AGAIN, the same trouble as with SDSNES.....   :-[

Offline Eyedunno

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: +10/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #197 on: March 01, 2019, 06:20 PM »
I bought an A version
I seriously doubt you bought an A version. Wasn't the A version just Ikari's initial prototype? First Krikzz run was like E2 or something like that, IIRC.

Do we have to wait FEW MONTHS more and buy a "stable' revision (revision C , D ??) without any hidden troubles ??

SDSNES is a pricey  add on ...
Don't want to live AGAIN, the same trouble as with SDSNES.....   :-[
Why do you want an SD2SNES Pro? The biggest reason it is being made is because the legacy hardware is getting expensive, so it was redesigned with newer hardware that is easier to buy. Don't expect to be able to play any games you can't already play on your regular SD2SNES. Yes, maybe some day it might support save states with sound and Super Game Boy, plus it will support SA-1 games and MSU-1 at the same time, but that's literally all. You already have access to 100% of the North American and European library and well over 99% of the Japanese library with regular SD2SNES. What's wrong with that? Unless you really think it's worth shelling out $200+ just to play hacks of Jikkyo Oshaberi Parodius and Super Mario RPG with MSU-1 music...

I recommend maybe waiting a year or two until it's actually better than regular SD2SNES, and that way you can also check forums and make sure the new hardware is working with no obscure issues.

Offline rogerTrutman4ever

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #198 on: March 01, 2019, 06:51 PM »
yeah .. sorry .. My first version of the SD2SNES was a revision E1b  / 2012-05-17 and not A.... my mistake. ???

You're right , Eyedunno, I will wait for few months and then decide to buy or not this new SD2SNES Pro.

Truth is , like few guys here, I also have a DE 10 with ram ....
The SNES core is still young, still missing so coprocessor and there is no support for MSU 1 games..... but the expansion of this board is really impressive !
We won't be able to "emulate" PSX or saturn machine but all the 8 / 16 bit era machines can work on the DE 10 ....

And YES  ....the "normal"  SD2SNES is already great like this !  :)
thanks to all the people involved in this project !

Offline Galron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #199 on: March 01, 2019, 07:04 PM »
The SD2SNES Pro uses the same FPGA' as the Super NT doesn't it?

I wonder if getting chip support working on it (and its ready to use those drivers out of the box) will allow further hacking of the Super NT to add those chip's support as well. Yes it sort of makes both 'redundant' if you own both, however...


Otherwise as I undertand it the Cyclone V chip in the pro is essentially similar to the original used chip, but closer to the newer models, and is made by the competitors company. It just happens to be cheaper. One is Intel based, and the other is Cyrix based? Obviously some differences between the two, but just like Intel and Cyrix IBM-compatible PCs alot of the code is interchangeable/compatible, and where things differ, same software can determine and switch on compatiblity for the chip being used, as needed drivers for both are included.

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 758
  • Karma: +43/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #200 on: March 02, 2019, 04:17 AM »
For Pro users

Firmware 1.10.1
https://sd2snes.de/blog/archives/1058

changelog
This is an important update for SD2SNES Pro users since v1.10.0 doesn’t boot on it due to a silly bug. Sorry about that!
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A
Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance | SGB v1 | PCE+SSD3

Offline mrpopsicleman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
  • Karma: +15/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #201 on: March 02, 2019, 05:03 AM »
The SD2SNES Pro uses the same FPGA' as the Super NT doesn't it?

I wonder if getting chip support working on it (and its ready to use those drivers out of the box) will allow further hacking of the Super NT to add those chip's support as well.

Won't happen. Kevtris said the memory bandwidth of the chips in the Super Nt is not good enough and SA-1/SuperFX via jailbreak are not possible on Super NT.

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #202 on: March 02, 2019, 06:39 AM »
The SD2SNES Pro uses the same FPGA' as the Super NT doesn't it?

I wonder if getting chip support working on it (and its ready to use those drivers out of the box) will allow further hacking of the Super NT to add those chip's support as well.

Won't happen. Kevtris said the memory bandwidth of the chips in the Super Nt is not good enough and SA-1/SuperFX via jailbreak are not possible on Super NT.
Ouch, that explains a lot though, oh well.

Offline phoenixdownita

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 434
  • Karma: +36/-7
    • View Profile
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #203 on: March 02, 2019, 08:48 AM »
The SD2SNES Pro uses the same FPGA' as the Super NT doesn't it?

....

It appears the SD2SNES Pro uses a Cyclone IV
http://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topic=8578.msg66518#msg66518
in specific
Altera Cyclone IV E - EP4CE15F17C8N
It's a 15 K LE parts and it's been around since 2009
https://www.intel.com/content/dam/www/programmable/us/en/pdfs/literature/hb/cyclone-iv/cyiv-51001.pdf
(check the date at the very end of the PDF)

So if that's the case it's an older part than SuperNT that uses the Cyclone V introduced in 2011

But check it out by yourself:
https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/products/programmable/cyclone-series.html

The newest member of the family is the Cyclone 10 (which though in a way goes back to 4-LUTs instead of the more advanced fracturable 8-LUTs ALM of the Cyclone V but maybe it ends up being the same) .. who knows what they are doing.
For a while the Cyclone IV disappeared from their website, now even the Cyclone III is back .... they may have found a warehouse of NOS ... LOL
« Last Edit: March 02, 2019, 09:02 AM by phoenixdownita »

Offline babayaga

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #204 on: March 02, 2019, 11:41 AM »
BSX works fine on my unit, original Super famicom and the last revision of the sd2snes. Was so cool to play streetfighter alpha 2 with the new sdd1 support =)

Offline Galron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #205 on: March 02, 2019, 06:24 PM »
BSX works fine on my unit, original Super famicom and the last revision of the sd2snes. Was so cool to play streetfighter alpha 2 with the new sdd1 support =)


Which BSX games/programs were you trying, that worked? I found I had problems with some, but others worked fine.

Offline babayaga

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #206 on: March 02, 2019, 08:37 PM »
BSX works fine on my unit, original Super famicom and the last revision of the sd2snes. Was so cool to play streetfighter alpha 2 with the new sdd1 support =)


Which BSX games/programs were you trying, that worked? I found I had problems with some, but others worked fine.

only tried f-zero bx, any particular game i should try?

Offline Galron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #207 on: March 02, 2019, 11:57 PM »
I had problems with Chrono Trigger programs; Sound Player, Enemy List, and Bike Racing game.

I had no problems with the Zelda games I tested which can be found here:

https://bszelda.zeldalegends.net/bsx.shtml

I also had no problems with the translated version of Radical Dreamers.


I think that's the limit to the ones I tested.

Offline rogerTrutman4ever

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #208 on: March 03, 2019, 11:25 AM »
I have one question about the sd2snes PRO : 

I understand that "CPU" is more powerful on the PRO version, right....
So more programs can run at the same time.. ok ... But what about the memory ?

Did they include more "ram" on the PRO version compare to the "normal" SD2SNES board ?  ???
« Last Edit: March 06, 2019, 04:26 PM by rogerTrutman4ever »

Offline Relikk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Karma: +24/-8
    • View Profile
Re: SD2SNES Pro
« Reply #209 on: March 03, 2019, 12:43 PM »
I have one question about the sd2snes PRO : 

I understand that "CPU" is more powerful on the PRO veriosn, right....
So more programs can run at the same time.. ok ... But what about the memory ?

Did they include more "ram" on the PRO version compare to the "normal" SD2SNES board ?  ???

No, only the FPGA is bigger. Which means it has the possibility to simulate more, and larger chipsets.