Author Topic: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0  (Read 4803 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline planetsuzy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« on: May 29, 2019, 03:30 AM »
I recently purchased and everdrive from amazon and I got a pack of roms that I found on reddit.It is the first link in google if you type Everdrive Collection Torrent.This particular collection is known as the no intro collection.As a result of this particular collection,I am using a cracked Kazooie instead of the original rom.I noticed that the top left corner of the screen is a little bit rounded.This does not happen with any other game.Can everdrive 3.0 run this game without using the cracked rom?What can I do to fix this graphical glitch?Thanks.

Offline Galron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 644
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2019, 03:53 AM »
If you are running ever drive 3.0. You should't need the cracked rom I think?

Have you tried downloading similar from from another no-intro set?

Offline planetsuzy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2019, 05:20 AM »
If you are running ever drive 3.0. You should't need the cracked rom I think?

Have you tried downloading similar from from another no-intro set?

No I have not.I am scared of trying a new banjo rom because I heard that it deletes your gamesave.Is this true?

Offline Galron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 644
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2019, 06:42 AM »
Not on a 3.0 with the CIC chip as far as I know.

It will on a 2.5 which was the reason for the hack.

You can also find a hacked version available in a thread here as well if you want to test it.

Edit:
ALso seems 3.0 may auto patches the rom anyways? ALthough that can be disabled, and the CIC chip is to avoid the copy protection issue anyways.
http://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topic=6862.msg53361#msg53361
« Last Edit: May 29, 2019, 06:46 AM by Galron »

Offline planetsuzy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2019, 05:51 PM »
Not on a 3.0 with the CIC chip as far as I know.

It will on a 2.5 which was the reason for the hack.

You can also find a hacked version available in a thread here as well if you want to test it.

Edit:
ALso seems 3.0 may auto patches the rom anyways? ALthough that can be disabled, and the CIC chip is to avoid the copy protection issue anyways.
http://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topic=6862.msg53361#msg53361

How do I know if I have ultra-cic 2?I bought my everdrive a week ago from amazon.


Offline planetsuzy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2019, 08:02 PM »
It’s standard I think. Look at the spec listings on Krikzz site.

Even newer 2.5s have it now apparently.

https://www.amazon.com/EverDrive-64-v2-5-Nintendo/dp/B079X2HK7W/ref=asc_df_B079X2HK7W/?tag=hyprod-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=312201696123&hvpos=1o1&hvnetw=g&hvrand=6521634841806151150&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=m&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=1024290&hvtargid=pla-574169729412&psc=1

I tried the standard rom called "Banjo-Kazooie (U) [!].z64" and I still see the left corner off my screen cut off a bit.I don't have this problem with any other rom and I can't test this since I do not own the original game.Does anyone here know a fix?

Offline Galron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 644
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2019, 10:35 PM »
[!] is not a no-intro set as far as I know... I'm not sure what dump, but that symbol usually means its not an accurate dump I think....

Offline planetsuzy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2019, 11:13 PM »
I have tried 3 separate roms.Which one do you recommend?This issue does not occur in any other game and I don't see it happening in project 64.

Offline Galron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 644
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2019, 11:24 PM »
I can't tell you where to find a "no-intro' set... they are clean/perfect dumps. I can't guarantee it will fix the problem, but it would be best place to start, for trouble shooting.


I wish I could give you more specific advice (links), but I can't. Best I can say is google something like "Banjo-Kazooie (USA) (No Intro - Nintendo 64)" and make sure pages that come up specify no-intro.... The file name is usually just "Banjo-Kazooie (USA).zip"

Offline planetsuzy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2019, 12:09 AM »
I can't tell you where to find a "no-intro' set... they are clean/perfect dumps. I can't guarantee it will fix the problem, but it would be best place to start, for trouble shooting.


I wish I could give you more specific advice (links), but I can't. Best I can say is google something like "Banjo-Kazooie (USA) (No Intro - Nintendo 64)" and make sure pages that come up specify no-intro.... The file name is usually just "Banjo-Kazooie (USA).zip"

I tried one that has the exact file name you mentioned and I am having no luck fixing the issue.What does "No-Intro" mean?

Offline Galron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 644
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2019, 01:13 AM »
http://www.no-intro.org/

It's an organization that verifies rom dumps. Making sure they have been correctly dumped.  Believe me if you see a site that offers the verified roms, it will say 'no-intro' under the subheading, or zip file, archive, or whatever you have pulled it from. If you don't see no-intro listed on the website its likely not a no-intro rom, and could be just anything.

Note one of the words I listed in my previous paragraph is a 'clue' it is a name of a certain website that has a full N64 no-intro """"archive"""". I may have repeated the website's name twice in this post even... ;)


THere is also a website that rhymes with 'tonic'...
« Last Edit: May 30, 2019, 01:17 AM by Galron »

Offline planetsuzy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2019, 02:24 AM »
http://www.no-intro.org/

It's an organization that verifies rom dumps. Making sure they have been correctly dumped.  Believe me if you see a site that offers the verified roms, it will say 'no-intro' under the subheading, or zip file, archive, or whatever you have pulled it from. If you don't see no-intro listed on the website its likely not a no-intro rom, and could be just anything.

Note one of the words I listed in my previous paragraph is a 'clue' it is a name of a certain website that has a full N64 no-intro """"archive"""". I may have repeated the website's name twice in this post even... ;)


THere is also a website that rhymes with 'tonic'...

I downloaded the one from archive, and the one that rhymes with tonik. They both have the same glitch on the left upper corner of the screen.This is driving me crazy and I do not own the original Banjo to test this problem.I am wondering if the problem is with the everdrive 3.0. I tried on two tvs and they both have this problem.I have also tried two different Everdrive 3.0 and two different consoles.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2019, 03:04 AM by planetsuzy »

Offline Galron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 644
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2019, 03:18 AM »
Can you put up screen shots, so I can see it, and test it myself? I haven't played through this particular game so I don't know exactly what I'm looking for... and its been years since I saw the original game on a console anyways. So I don't know if its an issue with the game or not...

Offline planetsuzy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Banjo Kazooie Evedrive 3.0
« Reply #14 on: May 30, 2019, 03:53 AM »
Can you put up screen shots, so I can see it, and test it myself? I haven't played through this particular game so I don't know exactly what I'm looking for... and its been years since I saw the original game on a console anyways. So I don't know if its an issue with the game or not...

I will try to get a good picture,I tried taking a few pictures of the CRT but due to the nature of the CRT I cannot get a picture that illustrates the issue.This guy on gamefaqs seems to have a similar issue https://gamefaqs.gamespot.com/n64/196694-banjo-kazooie/answers/448307-is-your-game-centered-on-the-screen-seriously-read-on (last comment). I may have to order a BK cart to try it out myself.