Author Topic: Trials of mana random black screens at bosses bug?  (Read 659 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Raging1337

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Trials of mana random black screens at bosses bug?
« on: June 22, 2019, 04:58 AM »
I am playing the newly released translation of trials of mana but i keep getting random black screens on boss fights every now and then,it will sometimes black screen with the music continuing to play but no response from pad input or any fx sounds just music and black screen

is anyone else experiencing this?

This is on a sd2snes pro on latest fw on a pal 1 chip snes

I lost over an hours worth of progress because of this tonight on the 2nd boss,it also did it on the first boss fight but i managed to get through that one so it seems sporadic/random lockups

Any help appreciated as i havent had any issues other than this.

Offline Galron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 513
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trials of mana random black screens at bosses bug?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2019, 06:48 PM »
I haven't tested the game out very far... Hopefully its fixable.

Offline Galron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 513
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trials of mana random black screens at bosses bug?
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2019, 12:22 AM »
So far I haven't seen any issues, fighting the first boss.

Offline yaoitaru

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trials of mana random black screens at bosses bug?
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2019, 05:56 PM »
Chiming in:

This was an issue I found with even the Seiken Densetsu 3 translation when doing certain spells (especially ones involving Mode 7 style effects).
I was told to try turning off in-game hooks (ie. reset hotkey L-R-SEL-X) and I never had problems after that

Offline Galron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 513
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Trials of mana random black screens at bosses bug?
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2019, 07:17 PM »
Ya I don't use ingame hooks, and have never seen any problems. I have 'extra sprites' option turned on in Super NT though, which really does help when lots of things are on screen.