Author Topic: Doom 64 isn’t bright enough  (Read 3064 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BolinCaker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 146
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • CakerBaby
Doom 64 isn’t bright enough
« on: September 28, 2019, 05:33 AM »
Would there perchance be a way to mod or patch a Doom 64 rom to fix the brightness issue? It is just waaay too dark. I mean, I remember it being dark but dang. Thanks in advance

Offline supersign

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 284
  • Karma: +25/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Doom 64 isn’t bright enough
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2019, 02:21 PM »
There was another post about this, however the link in that post is broken.

From gamehacking.org...
Code: (For NTSC Doom 64 version 1.0) [Select]
Kill The Red Tint/Brighten Up Levels - 810A810E FFFF
Code: (For NTSC Doom 64 version 1.1) [Select]
Kill The Red Tint/Brighten Up Levels - 810A81BE FFFF
Super Bright Doom - 800633DB 00FF

Someone from Reddit said E859FA20 59B6 also works but I haven't tested it and I'm not sure what version is intended for.
My backup of Saturnus' homebrew ED64 tools for v2 & v3 ED's

Offline SXR_Racer_192

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Doom 64 isn’t bright enough
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2019, 12:04 AM »
Fixed it. Took some time but I figured it out

Doom Version 1.1 NTSC only
800633C7 0001 - Turns on Brightness goggles
800A81CE 0003 - Brightness goggles timer fixed so it never runs out

Offline Kerr Avon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1545
  • Karma: +154/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Doom 64 isn’t bright enough
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2019, 03:10 PM »
The too-dark problem was fortunately fixed for the PAL release. One of the few times where it was good that we PAL users had to wait for our version (back then the PAL version of a game was regularly delayed for a while after the NTSC version was released, sometimes a week or two, sometimes months).

Offline triclon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Doom 64 isn’t bright enough
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2019, 08:02 AM »
Not sure if this helps, but I have come up with this Gameshark code that brightens the game a lot.  I find the game otherwise unplayable.

Doom 64 (U) (V1.0)
8105E9CC 0000
8105E9CE 330F
8105E9FC 0000
8105E9FE 330F

Doom 64 (U) (V1.1)
8105EA7C 0000
8105EA7E 330F
8105EAAC 0000
8105EAAE 330F

Doom 64 (E)
8105EC1C 0000
8105EC1E 330F
8105EC4C 0000
8105EC4E 330F

Doom 64 (J)
8105F7AC 0000
8105F7AE 330F
8105F7DC 0000
8105F7DE 330F

Offline Kerr Avon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1545
  • Karma: +154/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Doom 64 isn’t bright enough
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2019, 06:08 PM »
That's great, but could you translate that into a patch (.bps, .xdelta, or whatever) that mods the game rom so Everdrive owners can just play the modded rom with the brightened level of lighting, please?

Offline ozidual

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 560
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Doom 64 isn’t bright enough
« Reply #6 on: December 30, 2019, 04:33 AM »
Give these a shot:

Download

These patches don't do quite the same as above's GS code, but it seems to brighten it up while still leaving some shadows.  There is a line of code where it ANDs the above locations with 0xFFF7.  I just changed it to 0xFFFF.  These all appear to affect the VI though I didn't spend long checking things out. 
Projects: Zelda OoT GCtoN64, Doshin the Giant, SSSV, Sim City 64, Getter Love, Shiren
Flash Carts: EverDrive64 2.5, EverDrive N8, SD2SNES

Offline triclon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Doom 64 isn’t bright enough
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2020, 04:11 AM »
You can use the Gameshark codes on an Everdrive.  It has a way to put them in.  Highlight the rom, choose "select only" then hit z and go to "cheats" to put in the codes.  Press start, voila!  Alternatively you could make a .txt file with the same name as the rom and load the codes from that, making it real easy.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2020, 04:13 AM by triclon »

Offline Kerr Avon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1545
  • Karma: +154/-3
    • View Profile
Re: Doom 64 isn’t bright enough
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2020, 02:09 PM »
Give these a shot:

Download

These patches don't do quite the same as above's GS code, but it seems to brighten it up while still leaving some shadows.  There is a line of code where it ANDs the above locations with 0xFFF7.  I just changed it to 0xFFFF.  These all appear to affect the VI though I didn't spend long checking things out.

That's great, thanks mate!



You can use the Gameshark codes on an Everdrive.  It has a way to put them in.  Highlight the rom, choose "select only" then hit z and go to "cheats" to put in the codes.  Press start, voila!  Alternatively you could make a .txt file with the same name as the rom and load the codes from that, making it real easy.

True, but it's always good to have a pre-patched rom, as that way you can use other, non-brightness related, Gameshark codes with the game without falling foul of the ED64's current limit on the number of code lines it will allow.

Come to think of it, I wonder why Krikzz didn't add a Gameshark button to the Everdrive x7. It would be handy, and presumably could be integrated into the ED64's Gameshark code to make it function like the button on a real Gameshark. It would have been a real incentive for some people, myself included, to buy an x7 (which I might do anyway).

Offline Immorpher

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 84
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • YouTube Page
Re: Doom 64 isn’t bright enough
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2020, 07:30 PM »
Come to think of it, I wonder why Krikzz didn't add a Gameshark button to the Everdrive x7. It would be handy, and presumably could be integrated into the ED64's Gameshark code to make it function like the button on a real Gameshark. It would have been a real incentive for some people, myself included, to buy an x7 (which I might do anyway).

Indeed, I used to use the gameshark button a ton back in the day! A gameshark programming overhaul would be an excellent reason for current ED64 owners to upgrade.
Dark ambient horror utilizing a completely-original synthesizer on YouTube, Bandcamp, and Facebook.

Offline triclon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Doom 64 isn’t bright enough
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2020, 08:32 PM »
You could achieve pretty much the same functionality with button activators.  Put a button activator for some unused button like a direction on the D-pad on a code and that should work just fine on an Everdrive.  A GS button on the Everdrive would be a nice feature though.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2020, 08:35 PM by triclon »