Author Topic: Why do some specific games (which use DSPs) freeze?  (Read 890 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline EverNostalgic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Why do some specific games (which use DSPs) freeze?
« on: July 14, 2021, 03:45 AM »
I finally got my FXPAK PRO.

Satisfyingly, all these games I tried work without any issues:

* Super Mario World.
* Yoshi's Island.
* DOOM.
* Starwing.
* Street Fighter II.
* Donkey Kong Country.

However, frustratingly, Super Mario Kart just freezes after the "Nintendo" logo has shown and sounded its little sound effect.

Also, while Pilotwings starts, and lets me play around in the menu part, it freezes as soon as you actually start a level.

My extremely strong guess is that this is related to those last games using the "DSP" things, which I was told to put on the FXPAK PRO manually. Which I did. I read this page very closely, including all the comments: https://sd2snes.de/blog/downloads

I found all those .bin files listed and put them in the sd2snes dir. Annoyingly, the page doesn't mention if they are to go into some subdir, but since there are no such instructions, I assume that they just go in to the same dir.

My game ROMs are of course in a separate dir, called "games".

My FXPAK PRO firmware is the latest (1.10.3).

My SNES is of this model: SNSP-001A (FRG).

What to do about this? Why are the "DSP"s apparently not "kicking in"?

Bonus question: I went through all the menus but could not find any way to reset back to the menu. I am able to reset the *game* by pressing Start + Select + L + R at the same time, but I can't get back to the actual menu, forcing me to physically reset the console each time I want to switch a game. (Mostly an issue while testing things out, I guess.)

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1018
  • Karma: +56/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: Why do some specific games (which use DSPs) freeze?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2021, 05:47 AM »
you did not research / do homework hard enough that you need answers

* here List of Super NES games that use enhancement chips
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Super_NES_enhancement_chips#List_of_Super_NES_games_that_use_enhancement_chips

* https://sd2snes.de/blog/downloads
from page

Important:
The ‘sd2snes’ directory is considered a system folder and ignored by the file browser. Do not put any ROMs there as they will not show up :)

The headerless BS-X BIOS is required for running BS games. Rename it as ‘bsxbios.bin’ and put it in the sd2snes directory.

For DSPx / ST0010 support you need the DSP ROM dumps:

dsp1.bin
dsp1b.bin
dsp2.bin
dsp3.bin
dsp4.bin
st0010.bin
They should be quite easy to find on the nets.

* https://sd2snes.de/blog/compatibility/in-game-hook-compatibility
L+R+Select+Start   Reset game
L+R+Select+X   Reset to sd2snes menu
L+R+Start+B   Disable cheats
L+R+Start+A   Enable cheats
L+R+Start+Y   Permanently disable in-game hooks (in case they interfere with game operation).
L+R+Start+X   Temporarily disable in-game hooks (~10 seconds - if you need to get past a glitch but don't want to lose in-game buttons)
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N & Pro M19 N1 | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
RetroUSB AVS | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance |  16bitPocket GBC | PCE+SSD3

Offline EverNostalgic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why do some specific games (which use DSPs) freeze?
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2021, 06:05 AM »
you did not research / do homework hard enough that you need answers

U...hu.

* here List of Super NES games that use enhancement chips
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Super_NES_enhancement_chips#List_of_Super_NES_games_that_use_enhancement_chips

I did not request such a list. Why are you linking me to this?

* https://sd2snes.de/blog/downloads

Uh... Yeah. I linked to that exact page. What is your point?

Ironically, you didn't read my question before insulting me about "not doing research/homework". You just couldn't help yourself from being a smug prick, and I'm beyond sick of that mentality.

* https://sd2snes.de/blog/compatibility/in-game-hook-compatibility
L+R+Select+X   Reset to sd2snes menu

This, on the other hand, was actual information and answers my bonus question.

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1018
  • Karma: +56/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: Why do some specific games (which use DSPs) freeze?
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2021, 06:17 AM »
i do apologies when my replies sound insensitive
please do not take them as attack
sorry
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N & Pro M19 N1 | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
RetroUSB AVS | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance |  16bitPocket GBC | PCE+SSD3

Offline dreimer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
  • Karma: +27/-0
    • View Profile
    • Reimi's Blog
Re: Why do some specific games (which use DSPs) freeze?
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2021, 10:07 AM »
You need the dsp*.bin and as the list by lee4 explains a few more files in the folder where the firmware is located and you need the correct ones. The right ones are mentioned by lee4 and can be found with google and "dsp1.bin dsp1b.bin dsp2.bin dsp3.bin dsp4.bin st0010.bin" caitsith2 is your friend here.

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2229
  • Karma: +98/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Why do some specific games (which use DSPs) freeze?
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2021, 05:09 PM »
https://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topic=11165.msg82309#msg82309
Make sure to use the .bin files and not the .rom files for the DSP and ST co-processor firmware as dreimer said. In the case of the Satellaview BIOS you can use any of the SFC ones, the "no-DRM" variants are hacked to not count down the play count counter on games with a play count limit. The English variants are translated to English.


You can always also hold reset for about 2 seconds to reset back to the menu. This works even if in-game hooks are off (which may be required to play certain games that don't like hooks). This works on the Everdrive N8 as well.
« Last Edit: July 14, 2021, 05:12 PM by nuu »

Offline Richardragon87

  • SNESAdvance Revival Coder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 666
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why do some specific games (which use DSPs) freeze?
« Reply #6 on: July 14, 2021, 06:00 PM »
Bonus question: I went through all the menus but could not find any way to reset back to the menu. I am able to reset the *game* by pressing Start + Select + L + R at the same time, but I can't get back to the actual menu, forcing me to physically reset the console each time I want to switch a game. (Mostly an issue while testing things out, I guess.)

I haven't used my S2DSNES for a while now due to covid and the lack of those who play it with be but wasn't the key config having a X button to reset to the menu of the directory of the SD2SNES... it was so popular I even made it my hackchi for the SNES Mini reset feature to use it though it has been so long since I booted it up I forgot what the reset key was but I don't thing it was L and R together.

Edit: Just guessing was it L, R select and X or something, keep in mind as stated I forgot what the config was these days xD
[quote Random dating spambotJ

Quote
Post changed:

Great, the photo didn't load! Does anyone know how to fix this?
In any case, my other photos can be viewed here, I will be glad to meet you, I love flirt))

P.S Richardragon87! Don't write me again, dude! You're in ignore list!

Offline EverNostalgic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why do some specific games (which use DSPs) freeze?
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2021, 06:51 PM »
You need the dsp*.bin and as the list by lee4 explains a few more files in the folder where the firmware is located and you need the correct ones. The right ones are mentioned by lee4 and can be found with google and "dsp1.bin dsp1b.bin dsp2.bin dsp3.bin dsp4.bin st0010.bin" caitsith2 is your friend here.

I'm not sure why both you and the other guy seemed to not notice my mention of having done exactly this. The only thing I can think of is that the files I got are somehow corrupted.

Offline EverNostalgic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why do some specific games (which use DSPs) freeze?
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2021, 06:56 PM »
After downloading the .bin files from that recommended site, comparing them to the ones I already have on my FXPAK PRO, I realized that the ones I have had the right file names but indeed end with .ROM and not .BIN. Dammit. Well, case solved, I guess. I'm pretty confident that this solves everything without having tried it yet.

Offline Richardragon87

  • SNESAdvance Revival Coder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 666
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why do some specific games (which use DSPs) freeze?
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2021, 07:09 PM »
L+R+Select+X   Reset to sd2snes menu

Wow I guessed right, guess the memory of how its done in button configuration is still within me xD
[quote Random dating spambotJ

Quote
Post changed:

Great, the photo didn't load! Does anyone know how to fix this?
In any case, my other photos can be viewed here, I will be glad to meet you, I love flirt))

P.S Richardragon87! Don't write me again, dude! You're in ignore list!

Offline EverNostalgic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why do some specific games (which use DSPs) freeze?
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2021, 07:01 AM »
Verified: yes, it was the issue. So it's solved now.

Offline yalrighty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why do some specific games (which use DSPs) freeze?
« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2021, 07:22 PM »
Thank you for this thread. I just got mine and had the exact same freeze on the nintendo logo starting up Mario Kart. I was under the impression the krikkz firmware download archive just included all necessary files.

As for the DSP files - it says to use the .rom for latest versions but in the thread it says use the .bin files. I downloaded both but does it make a difference if I just put them all on the sdcard or will that confuse the system?