Author Topic: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level  (Read 6786 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« on: May 03, 2016, 02:33 AM »
i noticed a glitch reallly noticeble in the level demo of mickey mania in the tower flame doctor level. anyone have noticed? can be fixed?

to see the level demo keep press start and after 3-4 level you'll see it
« Last Edit: May 03, 2016, 03:11 AM by Arnold101 »

Offline Aether Knight

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 222
  • Karma: +12/-0
    • View Profile
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2016, 04:17 AM »
I tested this and didn't see anything out of the ordinary. (This would be the scrolling tower in the background with flames underneath correct?) What exactly is the glitch?

Tested on a SD2SNES v1.7b RevF w/ a SNES Mini/Jr.

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2016, 02:16 PM »
UP????????????????

Offline ikari_01

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
  • Karma: +80/-0
    • View Profile
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2016, 02:35 PM »
I don't see it either. Pics?

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2016, 04:41 AM »
i have a jap s famicom jr anyway...i'all add pic or a video

yes that level. the glitch is a "flame" coming from left right corner for a sec

Offline ikari_01

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
  • Karma: +80/-0
    • View Profile
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2016, 11:51 PM »
Can you turn off Auto region patch in the menu (Configuration -> In-game Settings) and see if it helps? Apparently the $213f register gets polled a lot in that stage (it has other purposes than the region bit itself).

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2016, 01:13 AM »
tried and do the same. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ir4mpLzrbxM
i read the topic on rtype glitch and after disabling ingamehook glitch disappeared. but now ingamereset does not work
« Last Edit: May 16, 2016, 01:31 AM by Arnold101 »

Offline Great Hierophant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2016, 07:54 PM »
You said you were using a Super Famicom Jr., right?  I would suggest that this could be another glitch found in consoles that use the 1-chip SNES, which include the SNES2/SFCjr.  See here for more details : http://www.racketboy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=46303
Check Out My Vintage Video Game & Computing Blog : http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2016, 03:30 PM »
its the sd2snes not the console.

Offline Great Hierophant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2016, 05:36 PM »
I could not see the glitch on my SD2SNES when I tried it with my non-1-Chip console.
Check Out My Vintage Video Game & Computing Blog : http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/

Offline ikari_01

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
  • Karma: +80/-0
    • View Profile
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2016, 02:05 AM »
I went back to v0.1.7b and can reproduce the issue with a 1CHIP SNES running at 60Hz. Other consoles at 60Hz are probably also affected but I don't have one ready at the moment.
I could not reproduce the issue earlier because I've already made progress in making the in-game hooks less intrusive. So this glitch will definitely be gone in upcoming releases. :)

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2016, 03:31 AM »
thank you :) isn't 0.17b the latest firmware anyway?

Offline ikari_01

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
  • Karma: +80/-0
    • View Profile
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2016, 09:26 AM »
It is the latest release :) However as I continue coding, the "version" on my sd2snes starts to differ inevitably.

Offline Great Hierophant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2016, 08:14 PM »
FWIW my non-1CHIP consoles are 60Hz, but I always have the hooks disabled, but I leave the auto-region patching on. 

There was no 50Hz version of the SNES2/SFCjr., but there were 1CHIP 50Hz consoles with the eject button.  As I recall the hardware is the same on 50Hz and 60Hz consoles with the exception of the lockout chip and the clock crystal. 
Check Out My Vintage Video Game & Computing Blog : http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/

Offline OneBagTravel

  • Sony KV-20FV300
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: +18/-0
  • Has the Perrier gone straight to my head?
    • View Profile
    • OneBagTravel.com
Re: mickey mania usa glitch in the round tower level
« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2016, 09:57 PM »
You rock Ikari :)
Travel light & smart. SFC using HD Retrovision component cables.