Author Topic: Simcity opening is all glitchy  (Read 1047 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Pace

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Simcity opening is all glitchy
« on: April 20, 2021, 03:40 AM »
Hey there I was just wondering if SimCity (US) was known to have a glitchy opening? On my super everdrive X5 I've tried different US roms of the game but I get this weird looking intro every time I start it, but if I press a button the menu display perfectly fine and the whole game play with no problem so it's only the opening that's just broken. Not a big deal but I loved watching that chill opening with the music ahah.



Strangely the last time I tried it to get this picture I saw some ALTTP title screen sprites scrolling through the screen (I could read A LINK TO with the same font), and that was the last game I ran just before trying simcity.

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2087
  • Karma: +88/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Simcity opening is all glitchy
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2021, 09:57 AM »
Sounds like a bug with the SED. It might need to clean the memory before loading games to avoid this.

Offline Pace

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Simcity opening is all glitchy
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2021, 05:43 PM »
Strangely tho this is the only game that this happen to, also happen even if it's the first game I boot up after turning on my SNES.

But now while looking through the options I saw quick reset was ON and turned it OFF, booting up simcity still had all the weird glitches but when I reset the console instead of going back to the menu it reboot the game only and this time the graphics are perfectly fine! As if it really needs to be the first thing to start, so no OS menu (Yeah now that I think about it when I choose simcity as the first game to boot the sprites seems to be the font used in the SED menu)

Huh.

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2087
  • Karma: +88/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Simcity opening is all glitchy
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2021, 08:48 AM »
So it was an initialization problem like I thought. The Everdrive is leaving some part of the SNES in a state that Sim City doesn't expect from a cold boot and doesn't initialize it correctly. There are more games like this but the symptoms may be different for every game, it can be sound or graphical. Krikzz might already have spotted and fixed many of them.

Offline Pace

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Simcity opening is all glitchy
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2021, 10:35 PM »
So is this something that could be fixed with an OS update or maybe with a rom patch? Is this something I should notify Krikzz about?
« Last Edit: April 24, 2021, 06:13 AM by Pace »

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2087
  • Karma: +88/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Simcity opening is all glitchy
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2021, 01:50 PM »
Yes should be fixable with an OS update. Notifying Krikzz is a good idea.

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 986
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: Simcity opening is all glitchy
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2021, 03:52 PM »
this problem should be already fixed

SNESOS-v1.02 30.12.2019
1) Fixed system initialization code which caused glitches in some games
« Last Edit: April 24, 2021, 03:56 PM by lee4 »
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N & Pro M19 N1 | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
RetroUSB AVS | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance |  16bitPocket GBC | PCE+SSD3

Offline Pace

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Simcity opening is all glitchy
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2021, 05:18 PM »
I've always been on higher and now on the latest 1.05 for the past week but this issue has been present the whole time though.

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2087
  • Karma: +88/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Simcity opening is all glitchy
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2021, 01:19 PM »
It doesn't say that it fixes Sim City though. Many games could have different kinds of problems in a flashcart where the game is loaded from a menu if they were only designed to start correctly from a cold boot.
The best way to find out if it's a problem with the OS, is if other people with a SED X5 could test Sim City. Unfortunately I only have an SD2SNES, and Sim City starts fine on it.

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 986
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: Simcity opening is all glitchy
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2021, 05:31 PM »
he could try old OS 1.01 to see problem still there
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N & Pro M19 N1 | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
RetroUSB AVS | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance |  16bitPocket GBC | PCE+SSD3