Author Topic: FXPakPro glitchy graphic  (Read 1748 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline compugab

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« on: May 08, 2021, 04:26 PM »
Since I received my FXPakPro the graphic have been glitch. I made a video demonstraing the effect :

https://youtu.be/73gyXpsm8oA

Note that I also have the glitches in the main FxPackPro menu.

System informations are :

Firmware version : 1.10.3
SD Maker/OEM : 0x03, SD
SD Product name : "SN64G", Rev. 8.0
SD Serial No. : 40b5d2ed, Mfd. 2020/11
SD acc. time : 0.156/3.070 ms avg/max
Card usage : 49mb / 29984mb
CIC state : original or no CIC
SNES master clock : 21478502hz
CPU/PPU1/PPU2 : 2/1/1
VMode : 60hz

I opened and clean my SNES, everything seems to be fine. I have an original power supply as I saw that this could be an issue. But now, nothing seems to work. I can play original cartridge without issue.

Does anyone as a solution?

Thank you
Compugab

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1020
  • Karma: +56/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2021, 05:18 PM »
Have you run fxpak diagnostics ?
https://sd2snes.de/files/sd3snes_diagnostic_firmware.zip

note screen will be black /blank during diagnostics
after 15 mins turn off snes and post the data from  diagnostics text file here
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N & Pro M19 N1 | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
RetroUSB AVS | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance |  16bitPocket GBC | PCE+SSD3

Offline compugab

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2021, 10:19 PM »
Results :

===log opened===
flash check:   1d62b458-b82d6850-c2-11-0 
SD test... please insert card
=============================
crc1 = 8a0b9767 crc2 = 8a0b9767   PASSED


RTC Test
========
setting clock to 2019-02-23 00:00:00
2019-02-23 00:00:00
waiting 2 seconds
new time: 2019-02-23 00:00:02
PASSED


FPGA test
=========
configuring fpga...
basic communication test...PASSED


RAM connection test
===================

Testing RAM0.1 (U501)...

Testing RAM0.2 (U502)...

Testing RAM1 (U511)...
PASSED

SD DMA test
===========
clearing RAM - loading test file - verifying -PASSED


Loading SNES test ROM
=====================



sysclk test
===========
measuring SNES clock...
21478470 Hz
21478470 Hz diff = 0  max = 0
21478469 Hz diff = 1  max = 1
21478469 Hz diff = 0  max = 1
   CPUCLK: 3367849
  READCLK: 3047102
 WRITECLK: 160374
  PARDCLK: 160374
  PAWRCLK: 160374
  REFRCLK: 78735
ROMSELCLK: 481122
   CICCLK: 4031297
PASSED


SNES test status: IRQ: 00   PA: 00   MEM: 00/00
SNES test status: IRQ: 5a   PA: 5a   MEM: 5a/00



TEST SUMMARY
============

flash check:   1d62b458-b82d6850-c2-11-0 
Test      Result
----------------
SD        Passed
USB       not implemented
RTC       Passed
CIC       no run
FPGA      Passed
RAM       Passed
SD DMA    Passed
CLK       Passed
DAC       not implemented
SNES IRQ  Passed
SNES RAM  Passed
SNES PA   Passed

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1020
  • Karma: +56/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2021, 11:07 PM »
main menu ->
configuration ->
in-game settings
try turn on "Reset patch for clock phase"
and try turn off "in-game hook"
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N & Pro M19 N1 | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
RetroUSB AVS | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance |  16bitPocket GBC | PCE+SSD3

Offline compugab

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2021, 02:16 AM »
That configuration is allready actived.

I should note that I have glitch graphic in the menu. It's a couple of line but it's not perfectly stable.

Also, the problem seems to be worst with time. If I start a game, there will be some graphic glitches, but nothing serious. However, the video was taken about 1-1:30 hour into game play.

Hope it help.

Thanks

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2241
  • Karma: +98/-2
    • View Profile
Re: FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2021, 12:19 PM »
It could be something wrong with the FXPAK Pro hardware that makes it too hot and glitches appears.

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1020
  • Karma: +56/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2021, 03:36 PM »
CPU/PPU1/PPU2 : 2/1/1
i just realized you got ppu2 rev 1 is unstable with sd2nes / fxpak
best snes for sd2nes / fxpak is with ppu2 rev 3
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N & Pro M19 N1 | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
RetroUSB AVS | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance |  16bitPocket GBC | PCE+SSD3

Offline compugab

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2021, 11:15 PM »
Is there something I can do or I need a new SNES?

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2241
  • Karma: +98/-2
    • View Profile
Re: FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2021, 01:16 PM »
If you have the possibility to test it on another SNES you can do that. I wouldn't outrule that there could be something wrong with your FXPAK Pro. Not all SNES systems with PPU2 v1 have problems.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2021, 01:40 PM by nuu »

Offline compugab

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2021, 12:52 AM »
Ok, so to close up this tread, I bough a new SNES with a PPU2 Rev 3 and I don't have the problem anymore.

Thanks All!

Offline jobvd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2021, 07:08 PM »
How do you know what PPU and REV. a sfc is and where can you buy them?

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2241
  • Karma: +98/-2
    • View Profile
Re: FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« Reply #11 on: June 01, 2021, 02:33 PM »
If you have the FXPAK you can see the versions in the menu. Certain games has a hidden screen that displays it as well.

Late SNES models, including the 1CHIP and Jr, are always displayed as versions 2/1/3 (CPU/PPU1/PPU2), but earlier models can be 1/1/1, 2/1/1, 2/1/2 or 2/1/3. The 2/1/2 and 2/1/3 are the more common ones, and they shouldn't have this problem. PAL systems probably only comes in the later chip versions, but NTSC systems can have any.

When buying them you have to look at the serial number to see if it's a late or early model. If it has 4 rubber feet you can also know that it's quite an early model, but it can still have the final chip versions 2/1/3 (my PAL SNES has the final versions with 4 rubber feet). If it has 2 rubber and 2 plastic feet, it's one of the later models, and probably likely to be a 2/1/3. I don't know if it's guaranteed.
https://superfamicom.org/console-serial-database

Offline jobvd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 20
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« Reply #12 on: June 01, 2021, 05:36 PM »
I checked and both my PAL and malfunctioning SFC are 2.1.3.

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2241
  • Karma: +98/-2
    • View Profile
Re: FXPakPro glitchy graphic
« Reply #13 on: June 02, 2021, 01:42 PM »
So your PPU2 is version 3 and shouldn't have the above problem at least.