Author Topic: Does the Hyperkin Retron sq work with GBA or GB everdrives?  (Read 874 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Odin Belmont

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
I just bought a hyperkin retron sq and wanted to know if the GBA or GB Everdrives  or even ezflash works with it?
« Last Edit: May 01, 2021, 09:39 AM by Odin Belmont »

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 995
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: Does the Hyperkin Retron sq work with GBA or GB everdrives?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2021, 09:50 AM »
Short answer No

Hyperkin Retron 5 / Retron sq are Emulator
« Last Edit: May 01, 2021, 09:52 AM by lee4 »
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N & Pro M19 N1 | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
RetroUSB AVS | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance |  16bitPocket GBC | PCE+SSD3

Offline zaphro72

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Does the Hyperkin Retron sq work with GBA or GB everdrives?
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2021, 04:52 PM »
Short answer No

Hyperkin Retron 5 / Retron sq are Emulator

Shouldn't the Ezflash Definitive edition work since it will act like a retail cart?

Well that is assuming you have something to set the game on it I guess.

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2140
  • Karma: +91/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Does the Hyperkin Retron sq work with GBA or GB everdrives?
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2021, 11:34 AM »
Possibly in single use mode if the Retron 5 is able to dump it. In the normal mode it would be the same as with an Everdrive.

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 995
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: Does the Hyperkin Retron sq work with GBA or GB everdrives?
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2021, 01:32 PM »
Ezflash Omega Definitive edition in mode B with one game on Flash memory: yes
if you have multi games on Flash memory wont work correctly

X series doesnt have Flash memory only RAM chip
results you turn off any system the game is gone from RAM
X series uses last game play file when press start on OS

on original Everdrive GB 1.0 and fake ver, have flash memory and without sd will boot last game
« Last Edit: May 04, 2021, 01:39 PM by lee4 »
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N & Pro M19 N1 | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
RetroUSB AVS | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance |  16bitPocket GBC | PCE+SSD3

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2140
  • Karma: +91/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Does the Hyperkin Retron sq work with GBA or GB everdrives?
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2021, 09:26 AM »
Even without the SD card, the original ED GB doesn't act exactly the same as a normal cartridge like the Omega DE does though. In other words, it doesn't work with the Transfer Pak for the same reason ED GBA X5 doesn't work with GC and DS linking.