Author Topic: [SOLVED] RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD  (Read 1951 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Stripeless

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
This is my current setup:

  • Mega EverDrive X7 (Model 15, OS v3.14)
  • Sega Genesis Model 2
  • Sega CD Model 2
  • Sega 32X

The RAM cartridge feature of the X7 for the SEGA CD is consistently corrupted and requires formatting each and every time I interact with the “Data Storage Information” screen.

As a test, I have formatted both the built-in memory and the RAM cartridge memory. Additionally, I have formatted the Mega EverDrive X7 micro SD card and loaded it with a fresh OS. When I boot up the X7 and launch the Sega CD, I find that the RAM cartridge memory requires formatting again.

I have tried to back up my RAM saves to the SD card with the “toolbox” menu option in the X7, but this becomes corrupted too. Do I have a defective X7? I have run several diagnostic tests and the results are always positive.



Solved - a new CR1220 battery in the X7 solved everything.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2021, 08:54 PM by Stripeless »

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2150
  • Karma: +91/-2
    • View Profile
Re: RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2021, 12:50 PM »
Maybe the battery is bad?

Offline Stripeless

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2021, 09:23 PM »
Can you clarify? Like an internal battery for the Sega CD, or the small coin battery inside of the Mega EverDrive X7?

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2150
  • Karma: +91/-2
    • View Profile
Re: RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2021, 12:07 PM »
The battery inside the Everdrive since that is the one corrupting.

Offline Stripeless

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2021, 03:03 AM »
Thank you! A new CR1220 fixed everything.

So, new question, where are the save files for my backed-up Sega CD games on my EverDrive’s SD card? I’d like to back them up to my computer to avoid this problem in the future.

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 996
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: [SOLVED] RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2021, 03:07 AM »
saves are on everdrive memory
you need change games to force everdrive to dump save to sd card
save are located inside MEGA folder in SAVE folder
« Last Edit: March 26, 2021, 03:12 AM by lee4 »
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N & Pro M19 N1 | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
RetroUSB AVS | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance |  16bitPocket GBC | PCE+SSD3

Offline Stripeless

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2021, 09:20 PM »
@lee4

Are you sure about that? My SAVE folder only contains save files for Genesis/32X games, each listed by name. I don’t see individual saves for Sonic CD, Eternal Champions: Challenge from the Dark Side, etc.

I have properly backed up my Sega CD RAM saves by utilizing: Toolbox > Game RAM to SD, which informs “Battery Memory: Saved”.

The only thing I see in the SAVE folder that is related to my Sega CD is a new file called “CDBIOS.BRM”. Does this file contain all of my RAM cartridge saves?

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2150
  • Karma: +91/-2
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #7 on: March 27, 2021, 01:01 PM »
Yes it's the dump of the BRAM and should contain everything you saved there. If you want one BRAM for each individual game, there is an option for doing that in the options menu. Also like lee4 said, you might need to load up a different game from the last one to force the Everdrive to empty its save memory and copy it to the SD card (I'm not sure if the MED Pro requires this), or else the save file might not be the latest one you have.

Offline Stripeless

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #8 on: March 27, 2021, 11:19 PM »
@nuu

No, I don’t need individual backup saves of each individual Sega CD game. Copying the CDBIOS.BRM file to my computer sounds like a solid way to backup my RAM cartridge saves, should the Mega EverDrive’s battery fail again.

Thank you very much for the detailed instructions, I feel like I have a much better understanding of this Sega CD save business now.

Offline mistamontiel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • ..!!
    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/mistamontiel00/videos
Re: [SOLVED] RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #9 on: April 01, 2021, 01:33 AM »
0mG! I don't know where I saw it if I did and it's why I opted for cheaper X7,

when I get a CDM2 is my X7 able to power it up switch to CD? The 32x cartridge port is a real snug bitch let me tell you! ..I also see there is no burn-protect but there is region-lock

Is it possible if I'd select whatever region BIOS I need would that let me to ImgBurn whatever without need region-patch?

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2150
  • Karma: +91/-2
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #10 on: April 01, 2021, 10:24 AM »
Never mind I forgot that this thread is about MED X7 and not the Pro. I don't know if the X7 can save individual CD games. It can act like a RAM cart for the CD though.
The X7 can't be used to play CD games, only the Pro.

Offline mistamontiel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • ..!!
    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/mistamontiel00/videos
Re: [SOLVED] RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #11 on: April 01, 2021, 02:39 PM »
..can it power it on is all I need

I'm shopping for a CD now, and understand the pesky requirement of the cartridge slot being empty, can the X7 circumvent this and power it on

Offline mistamontiel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • ..!!
    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/mistamontiel00/videos
Re: [SOLVED] RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #12 on: April 24, 2021, 04:46 PM »
WOO BEBE it does!!! Not let me change BIOS but far much better EDIT: I gave in to the 20-30 BIOS ZIP from archive.org and very few specific ones will just function!

..I'm going to be the only one getting the Pro only to have SMS states xP and to have secondary setup since 32x outrights damns SMS compatibility unfortunate, n try me first M1 Genesis
« Last Edit: May 13, 2021, 05:58 AM by mistamontiel »

Offline zaphro72

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #13 on: April 24, 2021, 06:02 PM »
WOO BEBE it does!!! Not let me change BIOS but far much better

..I'm going to be the only one getting the Pro only to have SMS states xP and to have secondary setup since 32x outrights damns SMS compatibility unfortunate, n try me first M1 Genesis

It is well document and very upfront that SMS will not work when a 32x is attached.

I actually went with two different setups so I didn't have to remove my 32x....although I will admit I don't play much 32x

Offline mistamontiel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • ..!!
    • View Profile
    • http://www.youtube.com/mistamontiel00/videos
Re: [SOLVED] RAM corruption with Mega EverDrive X7 and Sega CD
« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2021, 09:08 PM »
But how do I Game Genie SMS? The Everdrive asks for xxxx-xxxx format but I see longer strings on GH

EDIT: I see there are IPS patches to apply! Still shame x7 doesn't states for SMS again that alone is why I wanting a Pro for secondary setup lol
« Last Edit: May 02, 2021, 10:09 PM by mistamontiel »