Author Topic: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16  (Read 11063 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline PaulOnGames

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« on: July 16, 2017, 12:25 AM »
I just want to report that the reset to menu function does not function properly with OS 16. It works perfectly fine with OS 15. I made sure that the fragmentation issue wasn't the culprit by formatting the SD card. When I press reset, the OS tries to init, but I get nothing but a black screen.

Offline CTgamer4all

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2017, 01:23 AM »
It hasnt been working, but can i ask a question; do u know how to fix FDS game problems?, they work the first try but then they give me a error 24 message...

Offline CTgamer4all

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2017, 01:25 AM »
I got my nes everdrive n8 3 days ago and ive tried all available versions and i get the same error when playing FDS games :(

Offline PaulOnGames

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2017, 06:28 PM »
I did not run into any issues with FDS games. I'm using an original Famicom modified to output composite video in case you guys are wondering.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2017, 06:38 PM by PaulOnGames »

Offline kyleprecise

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2017, 02:30 AM »
I am having the same problem as PaulOnGames with the black screen after attempting to reset to menu in OS 16.

If I reset while in the Everdrive menu, I reset to the Everdrive menu.

If I select the reset to game option, I can reset from a game back to its title screen.

What I cannot do is reset back to the Everdrive menu after loading a game. I get a quick "OS init" and then a black screen.

Offline Jdurg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2017, 09:42 PM »
I had the same issue with RC1 of OS 16.  I would use the hard reset, or even press the reset button on my frontloader NES, and it would come up with "OS Init..." and just hang there.  With the full release of OS 16 I no longer have the issue.  I also completely formatted the SD card (no quick format) and copied over the full directory structure in one block.  (E.g. i made a folder with the EDFC folder and ROM folder and copied that over at once instead of copying file by file).  So a completely and fully defragmented SD card seems to work.

ONLY issue i now have is with FDS games.  i like the auto disc swapping, but would like to be able to turn that off.  With the way the OS functions right now, you will never be able to see the full intro to games like Zelda, Zelda 2, Doki Doki Panic, etc. since the OS automatically swaps disc sides before any inputs are given.  I would like to have it so that it will automatically switch sides once i press start or some other button combination.

Offline kyleprecise

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2017, 11:39 PM »
Thank you, Jdurg. Complete format didn't fix the problem, but I tried a different SD card and OS 16 reset fine.

Offline PaulOnGames

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2017, 08:05 PM »
Interesting, so it could be the SD card that I am using? Strange that I don't experience it using OS 15? In any case, I'll be sticking to OS 15 since I experienced no issues using it.

Offline PaulOnGames

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2017, 08:06 PM »
@kyleprecise Just out of curiosity, what brand of SD card did you use?

Offline Cloudmp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2017, 06:12 PM »
Same thing happening with my cart, i'm using an San disk card, in an av famicom RGB modded, I will dowgrade to OS V15

Offline NOBODY

  • LOADING...
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2017, 02:39 AM »
Just to let you guys know. My RESET was working fine. Then I decided to reorganize my roms. I transfered all them to computer then back again to the SDCARD.

Now I have that issue with Reset. Its seams is something related to the SDcard. I will try the same process but formating completely.
Everdrive-N8 (1.3)
Famicom AV (Rev.H) Hi-Def NES (4.2)
Turbo Game CCE (VG-9000T)(NES Clone)

Everdrive-X7 (V2.01)
MegaDrive 1 JAP (VA4)
MegaDrive 1 EUR (M5+CIC)

SD2Snes (Rev.H)
Super Nintendo (USA.1CHIP01)
Super Nintendo (USA.GPM02)
Super Famicom (JAP.GPM01)
Analogue Super NT

Offline NOBODY

  • LOADING...
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2017, 04:00 AM »
Done!

Problem solved!  8)

After you have organized your roms and your folders.

After all, copy the folder EDFC last to the SDcard.

RESET should work fine without issues.  ;)
Everdrive-N8 (1.3)
Famicom AV (Rev.H) Hi-Def NES (4.2)
Turbo Game CCE (VG-9000T)(NES Clone)

Everdrive-X7 (V2.01)
MegaDrive 1 JAP (VA4)
MegaDrive 1 EUR (M5+CIC)

SD2Snes (Rev.H)
Super Nintendo (USA.1CHIP01)
Super Nintendo (USA.GPM02)
Super Famicom (JAP.GPM01)
Analogue Super NT

Offline Ripthorn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2017, 07:25 PM »
I tried everything mentioned here and nope, black screen after reset.
Any other suggestion? I own a Top Loader with Hi-Def NES.

Offline Matalog

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #13 on: August 13, 2017, 11:31 PM »
I got my nes everdrive n8 3 days ago and ive tried all available versions and i get the same error when playing FDS games :(

You need to get the correct FDS game set - they aqre headerless I think - Search for Smokemonster ROMs and sign up to emuparadise to download them - the FDS files in that set should work for you.

Offline NOBODY

  • LOADING...
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Reset to Menu does not function with OS 16
« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2017, 12:55 AM »
I tried everything mentioned here and nope, black screen after reset.
Any other suggestion? I own a Top Loader with Hi-Def NES.
I dont think so.

The last thing you must copy is the OS folder.
Everdrive-N8 (1.3)
Famicom AV (Rev.H) Hi-Def NES (4.2)
Turbo Game CCE (VG-9000T)(NES Clone)

Everdrive-X7 (V2.01)
MegaDrive 1 JAP (VA4)
MegaDrive 1 EUR (M5+CIC)

SD2Snes (Rev.H)
Super Nintendo (USA.1CHIP01)
Super Nintendo (USA.GPM02)
Super Famicom (JAP.GPM01)
Analogue Super NT