Author Topic: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt  (Read 2136 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Jamlpr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« on: March 24, 2021, 05:44 AM »
I own an Analogue Super Nt (ghostly edition if that matters) and recently received my FxPak Pro from everdrive.me

The FxPak Pro loaded fine in my office and then I moved it to the living room and it loaded fine. I was able to boot up some Zombies Ate My Neighbors and played for 30~ mins. I couldn't get the ingame menu to work with any of the hotkeys (L+R+Start+Select) so I just turned off the Super Nt, removed the cartridge, reinserted it and turned the Super Nt back on. The FxPak Pro no longer loads. Just a black screen when I select "Run Cartridge".

I tried reformatting the MicroSD and reinstalling firmware on both the FxPak Pro and the Super Nt. I tried unplugging my controller and running it without the controller plugged in. I tried booting straight to the cartridge. Nothing works.

If anyone has any ideas I would happily try them.

Thank you!

Edit: I have now tried another brand new and different MicroSD card (SDXC instead of SDHC) and it still does not work. I am at a loss of what to do. I contacted Everdrive.me support and will see if they can help me. The FxPak Pro does not work on a real SNES and carts do work on my Super Nt.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2021, 12:52 AM by Jamlpr »

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2142
  • Karma: +91/-2
    • View Profile
Re: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2021, 01:03 PM »
You mean that loading a rom no longer works, or the OS never loads up? Even with the SD card not inserted?
If a game doesn't load you can try turning off all in-game-hooks. If the OS doesn't load you can try the diagnosis firmware on sd2snes.de.

Offline Jamlpr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2021, 02:05 PM »
The OS does not load, even with no MicroSD card inserted.

I wasn't aware that it should do anything without a MicroSD card! I tried the diagnostic tool and nothing happens with that either. I don't see any blinking inside the cart like it was doing before.

Is there a way to completely reset the cartridge and start over? I was considering buying a different type of MicroSD card today. I have tried 3 different SDHCs.

Edit: Also, I have seen you helping a lot of people on this forum so I wanted to say thank you! I appreciate you responding.

Edit2: Adding this image when the newest firmware is on the sd card.

Edit3: Last edit, I swear! When using the diagnostic firmware the left LED flashes green when the system is booted and the middle LED flashes yellow quickly. Both then turn off and nothing else happens.

« Last Edit: March 24, 2021, 03:04 PM by Jamlpr »

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 995
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2021, 03:10 PM »
do you have real snes to test fxpak with ?

do you have any real games to test on super nt ?
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N & Pro M19 N1 | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
RetroUSB AVS | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance |  16bitPocket GBC | PCE+SSD3

Offline Jamlpr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2021, 03:12 PM »
I, sadly, do not have either of those things. I can maybe pick up an SNES game sometime today if I find something on Facebook Marketplace or Craigslist. I do not really want to spend another 80-100 bucks on another system to test the cartridge.

I will say the system does load games through the SD slot with the custom firmware for the Super Nt. I have tried both the official and jailbroken firmware on the Super Nt while trying to load the FxPak Pro.

The FxPak Pro worked fine originally. It was only after shutting the system down, removing the cartridge, reinserting the cartridge and rebooting the system that the FxPak Pro stopped working.

Thank you for responding as well!

Online Richardragon87

  • SNESAdvance Revival Coder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 666
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2021, 07:34 PM »
I own an Analogue Super Nt (ghostly edition if that matters) and recently received my FxPak Pro from everdrive.me

The FxPak Pro loaded fine in my office and then I moved it to the living room and it loaded fine. I was able to boot up some Zombies Ate My Neighbors and played for 30~ mins. I couldn't get the ingame menu to work with any of the hotkeys (L+R+Start+Select) so I just turned off the Super Nt, removed the cartridge, reinserted it and turned the Super Nt back on. The FxPak Pro no longer loads. Just a black screen when I select "Run Cartridge".

I tried reformatting the MicroSD and reinstalling firmware on both the FxPak Pro and the Super Nt. I tried unplugging my controller and running it without the controller plugged in. I tried booting straight to the cartridge. Nothing works.

If anyone has any ideas I would happily try them.

Thank you!

Wow that is scary... I wonder if it was the ingame buttons which don't include the reset to menu did it. I always wondered if it was safe to disable in game hooks by button inputs in game instead of doing it in the menu as it was known to run into issues where the region lock would get messed up if it was turned off. Should be easy to replicate the error but as I had past experience of the region lock messing up with that feature in the 1st place I wouldn't want to try it as I just recently got the region free feature running again.
[quote Random dating spambotJ

Quote
Post changed:

Great, the photo didn't load! Does anyone know how to fix this?
In any case, my other photos can be viewed here, I will be glad to meet you, I love flirt))

P.S Richardragon87! Don't write me again, dude! You're in ignore list!

Offline Jamlpr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2021, 07:38 PM »
Could I somehow have accidentally done that? Any ideas on a fix if that is the case?

Online Richardragon87

  • SNESAdvance Revival Coder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 666
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2021, 02:58 AM »
Could I somehow have accidentally done that? Any ideas on a fix if that is the case?

In the area of the settings the SD2SNES/FXPAK lets you change various settings highlight the reset to menu then try turning it off then on (Or the other way around if its set to on by default), that's how my one managed to fix itself... usually the buttons are in reverse at this point so its down to luck it seems.
[quote Random dating spambotJ

Quote
Post changed:

Great, the photo didn't load! Does anyone know how to fix this?
In any case, my other photos can be viewed here, I will be glad to meet you, I love flirt))

P.S Richardragon87! Don't write me again, dude! You're in ignore list!

Offline Jamlpr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2021, 03:01 AM »
I can't even get the FxPak Pro to boot. Should I change that in the config.yml?

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2142
  • Karma: +91/-2
    • View Profile
Re: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2021, 01:07 PM »
No I think the settings are saved on the SD card in the OS folder, aren't they? You said the screen is black even when you start without an SD card, so it can't be related to any kind of settings.
If I start my SD2SNES without an SD card it displays a a black screen but with a message telling me to insert an SD card.
The way to start over would be to format the SD card and install a fresh OS.

Controls are also never reverse on my SD2SNES. Maybe you are holding the controller upside-down.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2021, 01:10 PM by nuu »

Online Richardragon87

  • SNESAdvance Revival Coder
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 666
  • Karma: +11/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2021, 07:20 PM »
No I think the settings are saved on the SD card in the OS folder, aren't they? You said the screen is black even when you start without an SD card, so it can't be related to any kind of settings.
If I start my SD2SNES without an SD card it displays a a black screen but with a message telling me to insert an SD card.
The way to start over would be to format the SD card and install a fresh OS.

Controls are also never reverse on my SD2SNES. Maybe you are holding the controller upside-down.

Controls as in the control settings of the SD2SNES and FXPAK where they allow you to turn certain features on or off, sometimes the region lock will work again if a menu reset if changed twice.
[quote Random dating spambotJ

Quote
Post changed:

Great, the photo didn't load! Does anyone know how to fix this?
In any case, my other photos can be viewed here, I will be glad to meet you, I love flirt))

P.S Richardragon87! Don't write me again, dude! You're in ignore list!

Offline Jamlpr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2021, 07:41 PM »
Since I do not get anything even without a MicroSD card I submitted a support request through the website and through everdrive.me. I haven't heard back from either but I do appreciate all of the suggestions and help! You all are the best.

Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2142
  • Karma: +91/-2
    • View Profile
Re: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« Reply #12 on: March 26, 2021, 01:02 PM »
No I think the settings are saved on the SD card in the OS folder, aren't they? You said the screen is black even when you start without an SD card, so it can't be related to any kind of settings.
If I start my SD2SNES without an SD card it displays a a black screen but with a message telling me to insert an SD card.
The way to start over would be to format the SD card and install a fresh OS.

Controls are also never reverse on my SD2SNES. Maybe you are holding the controller upside-down.

Controls as in the control settings of the SD2SNES and FXPAK where they allow you to turn certain features on or off, sometimes the region lock will work again if a menu reset if changed twice.
Ok, probably a bug with the OS. You might want to backup the saves and reinstall the OS and see if it fixes it. The region autopatch have always worked as expected for me.

Offline Jay XIV

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FXPak Pro does not boot Super Nt
« Reply #13 on: April 21, 2021, 06:00 AM »
I am having exactly the same issue on my Super NT with my FXPAK Pro; black screen, nothing displayed.