Author Topic: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games SHVC-CPU-01 2/1/2  (Read 36282 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wprpalmeida

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #15 on: September 27, 2016, 08:30 PM »
The SHVC-CPU-01 is the first model of them all, the one with the offboard sound module. I have one and will test as soon as I get home. I don't want to play for a long time though, are these glitches early in the game?

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #16 on: September 27, 2016, 09:39 PM »
The SHVC-CPU-01 is the first model of them all, the one with the offboard sound module. I have one and will test as soon as I get home. I don't want to play for a long time though, are these glitches early in the game?
yes. test fmv from link to the past too.

Offline wprpalmeida

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2016, 11:40 PM »
The SHVC-CPU-01 is the first model of them all, the one with the offboard sound module. I have one and will test as soon as I get home. I don't want to play for a long time though, are these glitches early in the game?
yes. test fmv from link to the past too.
what fmv? do you mean the MSU-1 hacked one?

Offline wprpalmeida

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #18 on: September 28, 2016, 05:17 AM »
I have tested all 3 games and everything is working perfectly. My SNES is an american SHVC-CPU-01 unit, 2/1/3, recently re-capped, using an official Power Supply Unit. Is yours 3rd party by any chance?

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #19 on: September 28, 2016, 06:21 PM »
The SHVC-CPU-01 is the first model of them all, the one with the offboard sound module. I have one and will test as soon as I get home. I don't want to play for a long time though, are these glitches early in the game?
yes. test fmv from link to the past too.
what fmv? do you mean the MSU-1 hacked one?
yes.


its not the power supply. i use a 9v 2A one that i use on all the console i have...and never a problem

if that was the problem or the snes itself why i have glitches ONLY with this 2 games and fmv?

ALSO my snes is a 2 1 2  NOT 2 1 3
« Last Edit: September 28, 2016, 06:27 PM by Arnold101 »

Offline wprpalmeida

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #20 on: September 28, 2016, 09:53 PM »
I know yours is a 2/1/2 model, that's why I said mine is different. Anyways, 3rd party power supplies can induce all sorts of random problems due to possible out-of-spec EM interference, harmonics etc. As the SD2SNES is a power hungry device (moreso than your average original cart) I'd suggest trying an original Power Supply Unit before delving further into this issue.

Offline ikari_01

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
  • Karma: +80/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #21 on: September 29, 2016, 01:44 AM »
In addition, given that the 2/1/2 SHVC-CPU-01 are probably among the oldest units in existence, it can be assumed that its electrolytic caps have aged significantly. It might be worth checking and/or replacing them, especially the big ones in the power supply section on the SNES PCB.

Offline adimifus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #22 on: September 29, 2016, 01:49 PM »
its not the power supply. i use a 9v 2A one that i use on all the console i have...and never a problem

if that was the problem or the snes itself why i have glitches ONLY with this 2 games and fmv?
If you're NOT using an original Nintendo power supply, I highly recommend getting one, as third party power supplies are a crap shoot with the SD2SNES. This is WELL known and understood, which is why I (and many others) mentioned it. Regular games may not show any problems, but the SD2SNES is not a regular game. Many many many many (did I mention MANY?) problems have been solved by this simple change.
A Sega power supply would also a reasonable alternative if it weren't for US consoles using that wonky proprietary plug.

In addition, given that the 2/1/2 SHVC-CPU-01 are probably among the oldest units in existence, it can be assumed that its electrolytic caps have aged significantly. It might be worth checking and/or replacing them, especially the big ones in the power supply section on the SNES PCB.
Also this. The SD2SNES is a MUCH more complicated and sensitive device than any real game cartridge is, so anything even slightly out of spec (whether that be a third party power supply or failing components or whatever) can cause issues.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2016, 02:12 PM by adimifus »
Everdrive N8, Everdrive N8 Pro, Game Doctor SF7, SD2SNES rev E1, Everdrive 64 v2, Mega Everdrive Pro, Jaguar SD, PSIO, Satiator
EMS USB 64M, Everdrive GB v1.1, Everdrive GB X7 rev B, Everdrive GBA X5, CycloDS Evolution + M3 GBA Expansion

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #23 on: September 29, 2016, 06:44 PM »
i already checked the caps. they are good. the power adapter is much more powerful than a regular snes one, and is a good quality one not chinese...and is 2A. i use it to power md mega cd and 32x at same time.


no other have a us snes 2 1 2 rev?


i have to test soon the old firmwares like ikari said


ALSO..if it was problem of power or the snes i will have glitches on ALL games..not just only 2, i think instead is  problem of sd2snes software
« Last Edit: September 29, 2016, 06:57 PM by Arnold101 »

Offline adimifus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #24 on: September 29, 2016, 08:27 PM »
ALSO..if it was problem of power or the snes i will have glitches on ALL games..not just only 2, i think instead is  problem of sd2snes software
This is not true. I've heard of people having issues with specific real games with third party adapters. I've heard of people having issues with specific ROMs with the SD2SNES using third party adapters. I've heard of people having issues with specific FEATURES of the SD2SNES with third party adapters. Just because the adapter is outputting ENOUGH power doesn't mean it's CLEAN power. This can cause just as many problems, if not more.

I know there are good third party power adapters available, but using a real Nintendo branded power adapter is always a good starting point. What power adapter do you have, specifically? If you are dead set on not using a real Nintendo branded adapter, or simply can't find one reasonably, maybe others/ikari can see if they have or can get your power adapter for testing.

I personally only use first party adapters for all my consoles now. I've ran into too many problems with third party adapters, I just avoid them whenever possible.
« Last Edit: September 29, 2016, 08:44 PM by adimifus »
Everdrive N8, Everdrive N8 Pro, Game Doctor SF7, SD2SNES rev E1, Everdrive 64 v2, Mega Everdrive Pro, Jaguar SD, PSIO, Satiator
EMS USB 64M, Everdrive GB v1.1, Everdrive GB X7 rev B, Everdrive GBA X5, CycloDS Evolution + M3 GBA Expansion

Offline lee4

  • codetype specialist
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 995
  • Karma: +55/-0
    • View Profile
    • gamehacking.org
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #25 on: September 29, 2016, 09:42 PM »
its not the power supply. i use a 9v 2A one that i use on all the console i have...and never a problem
krikzz has video on 3rd party power adapter is no good for SD2SNES
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yhxSkxZgcK4

official original SNES power adapter outputs
10V 0.850A (850mA)

I tested DKC & DKC2 with SD2SNES on SNES mini/jr
I see no glitches or errors
ED64 v2.0, 3.0 & X7 | EDMD v3 | MEGAED X7 M15 v2.01 & PRO rev B | TED v2.4 | EDN8 v1.2N & Pro M19 N1 | SED v2.1 | SD2SNES rev E1 & PRO rev.B | EDGB v1.1 & X7 M17 rev B | EDGBA X5 M16 rev A & Mini M19 Rev B
RetroUSB AVS | Super NT | Mega SG | Super Retro Advance |  16bitPocket GBC | PCE+SSD3

Offline Sarge

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 362
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #26 on: September 30, 2016, 08:31 AM »
Running under voltage could very well cause intermittent issues.  I ran into this trying to power a 32X with an under-voltage adapter.
Hardcore Retro Gaming - Discuss games ten years old or older! Now with a modern gaming section!

http://hardcoreretrogaming.boards.net/

Offline Great Hierophant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #27 on: October 01, 2016, 08:50 PM »
I have a 2/1/2 SNES with the separate APU and I could not observe any glitches on DKC1 or DKC2 after playing for a decent while on my SD2SNES with current firmware.

I used to have a Super Everdrive that would show some glitches in games with this SNES, but not with my 2/1/3 SNES.  I ditched it after getting the SD2SNES and have not regretted it.
Check Out My Vintage Video Game & Computing Blog : http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #28 on: October 02, 2016, 06:29 AM »
ALSO..if it was problem of power or the snes i will have glitches on ALL games..not just only 2, i think instead is  problem of sd2snes software
This is not true. I've heard of people having issues with specific real games with third party adapters. I've heard of people having issues with specific ROMs with the SD2SNES using third party adapters. I've heard of people having issues with specific FEATURES of the SD2SNES with third party adapters. Just because the adapter is outputting ENOUGH power doesn't mean it's CLEAN power. This can cause just as many problems, if not more.

I know there are good third party power adapters available, but using a real Nintendo branded power adapter is always a good starting point. What power adapter do you have, specifically? If you are dead set on not using a real Nintendo branded adapter, or simply can't find one reasonably, maybe others/ikari can see if they have or can get your power adapter for testing.

I personally only use first party adapters for all my consoles now. I've ran into too many problems with third party adapters, I just avoid them whenever possible.
:) don't think that sega or nintendo OLD adapter are good. for nothing. have you never opened them? they contain a transformer with a capacitor. STOP.
my power adapter is from a router, is all electronic and output 2A and is stabilized at 9volts in load, perfect for every console and i have a lot.
is good on pal and jap snes, the glitch append only to the first us model  snes and only with sd2snes and only with dk games. so is not the adapter at all. i tested a sega mega drive original power trasformer too and glitches append the same way. is the first thing that i tried.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2016, 06:32 AM by Arnold101 »

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #29 on: October 02, 2016, 06:31 AM »
I have a 2/1/2 SNES with the separate APU and I could not observe any glitches on DKC1 or DKC2 after playing for a decent while on my SD2SNES with current firmware.

I used to have a Super Everdrive that would show some glitches in games with this SNES, but not with my 2/1/3 SNES.  I ditched it after getting the SD2SNES and have not regretted it.
so you have a 212 or 213 us snes? have you never recapped it? what ac adapter you use?

tomorrow ill try to change anyway the big capacitor
« Last Edit: October 02, 2016, 06:50 AM by Arnold101 »