Author Topic: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games SHVC-CPU-01 2/1/2  (Read 36280 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #30 on: October 02, 2016, 06:37 AM »

Does it work with earlier firmware versions? (say v0.1.7b, 0.1.6)?
not tried

Please also share pics, and I will help with the testing. I have 4 different US Snes consoles that I can test both games on. I have:

SHVC-CPU-01
SNS-CPU-GPM-01
SNS-CPU-GPM-02
SNS-CPU-1CHIP-01 ("fat")

tested?

Offline leonquest

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #31 on: October 02, 2016, 06:54 AM »
Not yet. My 2 month old baby occupies 99% of my time. I will try to make some time tomorrow as I'm curious to reproduce these glitches, however, without screenshots from you I won't even know what I'm looking for or where.
Everdrive64 V3 - SD2Snes rev. H - Everdrive N8 fami - MegaEd X3 - PS IO - MODE - MISTer - AVS

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #32 on: October 02, 2016, 03:12 PM »
Not yet. My 2 month old baby occupies 99% of my time. I will try to make some time tomorrow as I'm curious to reproduce these glitches, however, without screenshots from you I won't even know what I'm looking for or where.
in the intro and in gameplay...are very visible

Offline Great Hierophant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #33 on: October 02, 2016, 05:41 PM »
so you have a 212 or 213 us snes? have you never recapped it? what ac adapter you use?

tomorrow ill try to change anyway the big capacitor

I have one of each, and the SD2SNES works perfectly in each.  Both my consoles use the standard size enclosure with the eject button, no minis.  My 2/1/3 is not a 1-chip console. 
Check Out My Vintage Video Game & Computing Blog : http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/

Offline leonquest

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #34 on: October 02, 2016, 07:18 PM »
Not yet. My 2 month old baby occupies 99% of my time. I will try to make some time tomorrow as I'm curious to reproduce these glitches, however, without screenshots from you I won't even know what I'm looking for or where.
in the intro and in gameplay...are very visible

Hi There,

I managed to test DKC1 using my SD2snes rev f, fw 1.7c, on all of my 4 USA snes consoles, using an OEM PSU, all hooks off, using no intro roms. I found 0 glitches or errors on the intro or in gameplay:

SHVC 2/1/3
FAT 1CHIP 2/1/3
GPM-01 2/1/3
GPM-02 2/1/3


These are the facts of your troubleshooting:

- You are using a high quality PSU
- You have an original SD2snes, not a clone (right?)
- You checked your caps, and they are fine
- Real carts have no problems
- the SD2snes will not show these glitches on your japanese console
- No other games have these glitches

Conclusion:

I'm gonna go with Ikari on this one, and say that all 2/1/2 SHVC consoles are problematic.If you read his blog's faq, it says "Freak SNES: Some consoles exhibit strange timing behaviour or excessive address line noise. Try another console."

My recommendation is that you sell that particular console and get a new one.
Everdrive64 V3 - SD2Snes rev. H - Everdrive N8 fami - MegaEd X3 - PS IO - MODE - MISTer - AVS

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #35 on: October 02, 2016, 08:18 PM »
so you have a 212 or 213 us snes? have you never recapped it? what ac adapter you use?

tomorrow ill try to change anyway the big capacitor

I have one of each, and the SD2SNES works perfectly in each.  Both my consoles use the standard size enclosure with the eject button, no minis.  My 2/1/3 is not a 1-chip console.
but 212 is recapped or not?

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #36 on: October 02, 2016, 08:27 PM »
Not yet. My 2 month old baby occupies 99% of my time. I will try to make some time tomorrow as I'm curious to reproduce these glitches, however, without screenshots from you I won't even know what I'm looking for or where.
in the intro and in gameplay...are very visible

Hi There,

I managed to test DKC1 using my SD2snes rev f, fw 1.7c, on all of my 4 USA snes consoles, using an OEM PSU, all hooks off, using no intro roms. I found 0 glitches or errors on the intro or in gameplay:

SHVC 2/1/3
FAT 1CHIP 2/1/3
GPM-01 2/1/3
GPM-02 2/1/3


These are the facts of your troubleshooting:

- You are using a high quality PSU
- You have an original SD2snes, not a clone (right?)
- You checked your caps, and they are fine
- Real carts have no problems
- the SD2snes will not show these glitches on your japanese console
- No other games have these glitches

Conclusion:

I'm gonna go with Ikari on this one, and say that all 2/1/2 SHVC consoles are problematic.If you read his blog's faq, it says "Freak SNES: Some consoles exhibit strange timing behaviour or excessive address line noise. Try another console."

My recommendation is that you sell that particular console and get a new one.
address noise i think can be fixed for who knows...


i want to change the big capacitor also
« Last Edit: October 02, 2016, 11:33 PM by Arnold101 »

Offline Great Hierophant

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 299
  • Karma: +20/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #37 on: October 03, 2016, 05:30 PM »
Hi There,

I managed to test DKC1 using my SD2snes rev f, fw 1.7c, on all of my 4 USA snes consoles, using an OEM PSU, all hooks off, using no intro roms. I found 0 glitches or errors on the intro or in gameplay:

SHVC 2/1/3
FAT 1CHIP 2/1/3
GPM-01 2/1/3
GPM-02 2/1/3


These are the facts of your troubleshooting:

- You are using a high quality PSU
- You have an original SD2snes, not a clone (right?)
- You checked your caps, and they are fine
- Real carts have no problems
- the SD2snes will not show these glitches on your japanese console
- No other games have these glitches

Conclusion:

I'm gonna go with Ikari on this one, and say that all 2/1/2 SHVC consoles are problematic.If you read his blog's faq, it says "Freak SNES: Some consoles exhibit strange timing behaviour or excessive address line noise. Try another console."

My recommendation is that you sell that particular console and get a new one.

I would disagree, my SHVC-CPU-01 2/1/2 (with separate audio module) works fine with the DKC games.  It is not recapped, although that is something I have been meaning to do when I get some proper desoldering equipment.

Checking the caps visually is no substitute for testing the caps.  Caps can begin to fail in non-visually obvious ways.  The ideal way to test caps is to remove them and test their capacitance with a capacitance meter or multimeter out of circuit.  Of course, if you are going to do that you might as well recap the board anyway!  The second-best method is with an ESR meter, but they are quite a bit more expensive than a multimeter. 

Don't give up on your system until you have recapped, it is inexpensive, if time consuming : https://console5.com/store/nintendo-snes-cap-kit-shvc-models.html
« Last Edit: October 03, 2016, 05:34 PM by Great Hierophant »
Check Out My Vintage Video Game & Computing Blog : http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #38 on: October 04, 2016, 04:51 PM »
ot: someone know where i can buy cheap power reset button from china?

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #39 on: October 05, 2016, 05:19 AM »
changed the big cap, even if it was perfectly good, changed even other 2 smd caps in the power section, still do the same. i think that is definitely the snes version problematic...i hope that ikari can fix this problem in future, i tested a lot of games and never a problem still now

i have to still test the oldest firmware
« Last Edit: October 05, 2016, 05:22 AM by Arnold101 »

Offline skaman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games SHVC-CPU-01 2/1/2
« Reply #40 on: October 05, 2016, 07:29 AM »
Maybe it is a dying CPU.  The original CPUs are failing over time.

Offline leonquest

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #41 on: October 05, 2016, 11:22 AM »
changed the big cap, even if it was perfectly good, changed even other 2 smd caps in the power section, still do the same. i think that is definitely the snes version problematic...i hope that ikari can fix this problem in future, i tested a lot of games and never a problem still now

i have to still test the oldest firmware

If you want ikari to fix it, then you're gonna have to send him your console because, as he said himself, he has not been able to recreate these issues, even on a 212 SHVC.
Everdrive64 V3 - SD2Snes rev. H - Everdrive N8 fami - MegaEd X3 - PS IO - MODE - MISTer - AVS

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games SHVC-CPU-01 2/1/2
« Reply #42 on: October 05, 2016, 02:16 PM »
Maybe it is a dying CPU.  The original CPUs are failing over time.
lol

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games
« Reply #43 on: October 05, 2016, 02:16 PM »
changed the big cap, even if it was perfectly good, changed even other 2 smd caps in the power section, still do the same. i think that is definitely the snes version problematic...i hope that ikari can fix this problem in future, i tested a lot of games and never a problem still now

i have to still test the oldest firmware

If you want ikari to fix it, then you're gonna have to send him your console because, as he said himself, he has not been able to recreate these issues, even on a 212 SHVC.
i know but i can test for him

Offline ikari_01

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 325
  • Karma: +80/-0
    • View Profile
Re: sd2snes and usa snes glitch on donkey kong games SHVC-CPU-01 2/1/2
« Reply #44 on: October 05, 2016, 02:59 PM »
Are the glitches still there with v0.1.7d?