Author Topic: Rendering Ranger issue  (Read 3892 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline markrjones1970

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Ex-Ocean Software staff member&original N64 owner
    • View Profile
    • Ocean Software Facebook page
Rendering Ranger issue
« on: November 29, 2017, 09:14 AM »
I have tried a number of roms for this game from various sites and I get occasional (more often than not) crashing when all lives have been lost and the game freezes on a black screen. Is this a known issue or are most of the roms on the net (the rom from emuparadise is the one I'm using at the moment) bad dumps?
Mark R. Jones

Offline Relikk

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 400
  • Karma: +35/-8
    • View Profile
Re: Rendering Ranger issue
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2017, 05:08 PM »
I can't replicate that issue here. Everything seems fine on my end.

As a general rule of thumb when using ROMs on flash carts you should always use the cleanest dumps, and they're found in the "No-Intro" set.

Offline ozzy2k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Rendering Ranger issue
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2017, 05:15 PM »
Did you disable in game hooks?

Offline markrjones1970

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Ex-Ocean Software staff member&original N64 owner
    • View Profile
    • Ocean Software Facebook page
Re: Rendering Ranger issue
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2017, 09:25 AM »
No. How do I do that?
Mark R. Jones

Offline ozzy2k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Rendering Ranger issue
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2017, 01:35 PM »
Press the X button in the Main Menu -> Configuration -> In-game Settings -> In-game hook -> Disable all options
https://sd2snes.de/blog/compatibility/in-game-hook-compatibility

I don't know if this helps but mostly this feature making trouble.

After work I testing the game and post the checksum of my rom.

Offline markrjones1970

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Ex-Ocean Software staff member&original N64 owner
    • View Profile
    • Ocean Software Facebook page
Re: Rendering Ranger issue
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2017, 02:39 PM »
Thanks for the reply but pressing X I only get:

Set Clock
System Information

No other options
Mark R. Jones

Offline markrjones1970

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Ex-Ocean Software staff member&original N64 owner
    • View Profile
    • Ocean Software Facebook page
Re: Rendering Ranger issue
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2017, 02:52 PM »
Scrub that. I was running an old OS for some stupid reason. I've just updated to 0.1.7 4 preview and I now have that option so I'll give that a try. Cheers.

** Just had a look. Still don't get an Ingame settings option. Now I have:
Recent games
System Information
Configuration ---> Set Clock
« Last Edit: November 30, 2017, 02:54 PM by markrjones1970 »
Mark R. Jones

Offline ozzy2k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Rendering Ranger issue
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2017, 03:26 PM »
The newest firmware is version 0.1.7e.

Edit:
The game working as it should (even with in game hooks).
Here are the checksum of the rom I used.
 Datei: Rendering Ranger R2 (J).smc
CRC-32: 8fb5ac86
   MD4: 0e75c7ff7b7687207f656ec56ef9a5ba
   MD5: 057f03c63b9cdb4b1e7dd340982f2640
 SHA-1: f40ac25a6cdff1e8384723cad0290ba42fd50bda

Btw can you check your SD2SNES with the diagnostic firmware.
https://sd2snes.de/blog/cool-stuff/sd2snes-diagnostics
« Last Edit: November 30, 2017, 05:57 PM by ozzy2k »