EverDrive Forum

General => FXPAK (SD2SNES) => Topic started by: efsd on March 17, 2018, 01:55 AM

Title: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: efsd on March 17, 2018, 01:55 AM
I've got a strange glitch on the first boss of world 1.

When the platform goes up and down at the region that i spotted in circle there is a flickering line with the same texture of the platform that is moving.

I'm running a chinese sd2snes on 0.1.7e firmare, no-intro rom of the game, all hooks turned off. Can anyone confirm if this happens on your sd2snes too?
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: iwasaperson on March 17, 2018, 06:04 AM
It does not happen to me. What revision SNES are you using (look at system information CPU/PPU1/PPU2)? If it is a 1CHIP or Mini, that is a separate revision.

Have you noticed any oddities in any other games? Also what are the results of the SNES Burn-in test to rule out any hardware flaws with your SNES?
Also run a test on the SD2SNES and see if there are any failures (not counting CIC): https://sd2snes.de/blog/cool-stuff/sd2snes-diagnostics
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: efsd on March 17, 2018, 11:13 AM
It does not happen to me. What revision SNES are you using (look at system information CPU/PPU1/PPU2)? If it is a 1CHIP or Mini, that is a separate revision.

Have you noticed any oddities in any other games? Also what are the results of the SNES Burn-in test to rule out any hardware flaws with your SNES?
Also run a test on the SD2SNES and see if there are any failures (not counting CIC): https://sd2snes.de/blog/cool-stuff/sd2snes-diagnostics

Model Fat
CPU = 3
PPU1 = 1
PPU2 = 2

I don't know if it is 1CHIP.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: fille1976 on March 17, 2018, 05:32 PM
http://retrorgb.com/1chipsnes.html
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: iwasaperson on March 17, 2018, 06:29 PM
It does not happen to me. What revision SNES are you using (look at system information CPU/PPU1/PPU2)? If it is a 1CHIP or Mini, that is a separate revision.

Have you noticed any oddities in any other games? Also what are the results of the SNES Burn-in test to rule out any hardware flaws with your SNES?
Also run a test on the SD2SNES and see if there are any failures (not counting CIC): https://sd2snes.de/blog/cool-stuff/sd2snes-diagnostics

Model Fat
CPU = 3
PPU1 = 1
PPU2 = 2

I don't know if it is 1CHIP.

3/1/2 means it can be any model. If you can't open it up, check for the common 1CHIP glitches, like the glitchy bar in Demon's Crest or the lack of shadow in A.S.P. Air Strike Patrol.

It is important to run both the burn in test and the SD2SNES diagnostics in order to rule out any flaws with your hardware, since even with 1CHIP consoles, I am unaware of any compatibility issues with Super Mario World.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: efsd on March 18, 2018, 02:12 AM
It does not happen to me. What revision SNES are you using (look at system information CPU/PPU1/PPU2)? If it is a 1CHIP or Mini, that is a separate revision.

Have you noticed any oddities in any other games? Also what are the results of the SNES Burn-in test to rule out any hardware flaws with your SNES?
Also run a test on the SD2SNES and see if there are any failures (not counting CIC): https://sd2snes.de/blog/cool-stuff/sd2snes-diagnostics

Model Fat
CPU = 3
PPU1 = 1
PPU2 = 2

I don't know if it is 1CHIP.

3/1/2 means it can be any model. If you can't open it up, check for the common 1CHIP glitches, like the glitchy bar in Demon's Crest or the lack of shadow in A.S.P. Air Strike Patrol.

It is important to run both the burn in test and the SD2SNES diagnostics in order to rule out any flaws with your hardware, since even with 1CHIP consoles, I am unaware of any compatibility issues with Super Mario World.

So, i should avoid 1CHIP model as hell, got it. To turn things even worse i think it's a PAL-M model.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: iwasaperson on March 18, 2018, 04:44 AM

So, i should avoid 1CHIP model as hell, got it. To turn things even worse i think it's a PAL-M model.

Thanks.

Actually 1CHIP consoles are very sought after due to them outputting much sharper video in comparison to earlier models and the compatibility issues are very minor. I prefer the older models due to having better audio (specifically the SHVC-CPU-01 [1/1/1 is my main, but I also have a 2/1/3]) and guaranteed 100% compatibility, but I also keep a modded Mini around just in case I want to use it.

It all comes down to personal preference.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: efsd on March 19, 2018, 09:00 PM

So, i should avoid 1CHIP model as hell, got it. To turn things even worse i think it's a PAL-M model.

Thanks.

Actually 1CHIP consoles are very sought after due to them outputting much sharper video in comparison to earlier models and the compatibility issues are very minor. I prefer the older models due to having better audio (specifically the SHVC-CPU-01 [1/1/1 is my main, but I also have a 2/1/3]) and guaranteed 100% compatibility, but I also keep a modded Mini around just in case I want to use it.

It all comes down to personal preference.

Did you check the glitch that i stated above on original sd2snes or chinese sd2snes?
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: James-F on March 19, 2018, 09:36 PM
Sooo, are you playing the US SMW on a Chinese SD2SNES on a PAL console?
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: efsd on March 19, 2018, 09:49 PM
Sooo, are you playing the US SMW on a Chinese SD2SNES on a PAL console?

Yes, but not on a pure PAL console, that's a PAL-M console instead.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: iwasaperson on March 19, 2018, 09:51 PM
Did you check the glitch that i stated above on original sd2snes or chinese sd2snes?
Original, but it doesn't matter as both should function in identical ways due to the Chinese-made boards being made from the same schematics and PCB layout (Rev. F) which are open source. My consoles are all NTSC, btw.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: efsd on March 20, 2018, 02:39 AM
Did you check the glitch that i stated above on original sd2snes or chinese sd2snes?
Original, but it doesn't matter as both should function in identical ways due to the Chinese-made boards being made from the same schematics and PCB layout (Rev. F) which are open source. My consoles are all NTSC, btw.

Turns out that the glitch happens at random.

I attached the console with RF cable and the glitch didn't appear so i connected the snes back with composite cable and for my surprise the glitch was gone, then i decided to turn the system off and turn on again, removing and inserting the sd2snes again and the glitch did come back, turned the console off and powered it on again and the glitch didn't appear...

I don't know what is happening but i assume that it has to be an issue that ikari_01 should check because it might be a bug in this specific version of sd2snes firmware, currently 0.1.7e.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: iwasaperson on March 20, 2018, 05:06 AM
Turns out that the glitch happens at random.

I attached the console with RF cable and the glitch didn't appear so i connected the snes back with composite cable and for my surprise the glitch was gone, then i decided to turn the system off and turn on again, removing and inserting the sd2snes again and the glitch did come back, turned the console off and powered it on again and the glitch didn't appear...

I don't know what is happening but i assume that it has to be an issue that ikari_01 should check because it might be a bug in this specific version of sd2snes firmware, currently 0.1.7e.

What's your SNES's serial number (if you can't open it up)? I'm interested to see if this is another 1CHIP bug or not. I'll continue doing testing on my end, but I need to know if I should test on my Mini or one of my 3CHIPs.

Also which video output you use does not matter, as they are all generated from the same RGB signal coming off of PPU2. Just use the highest quality you can (RGB preferred, or S-Video if your TV doesn't have RGB).

And check the hash of the ROM you're using to make sure it's a good dump. It should match one of these: https://superfamicom.org/info/super-mario-world

And be sure you are using the correct region ROM for your console (for PAL-M, you want to use NTSC ROMs, as the console operates at the same 60.098814Hz as an NTSC SNES, just with a different color clock).
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: FeverDrive on March 20, 2018, 06:39 AM
Did you check the glitch that i stated above on original sd2snes or chinese sd2snes?
Original, but it doesn't matter as both should function in identical ways due to the Chinese-made boards being made from the same schematics and PCB layout (Rev. F) which are open source. My consoles are all NTSC, btw.
It does matter, I had 2 chinese made SD2SNES that didn't work 100% as expected.
It's hit and miss with the chinese made boards unfortunately.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: efsd on March 21, 2018, 12:55 AM
Turns out that the glitch happens at random.

I attached the console with RF cable and the glitch didn't appear so i connected the snes back with composite cable and for my surprise the glitch was gone, then i decided to turn the system off and turn on again, removing and inserting the sd2snes again and the glitch did come back, turned the console off and powered it on again and the glitch didn't appear...

I don't know what is happening but i assume that it has to be an issue that ikari_01 should check because it might be a bug in this specific version of sd2snes firmware, currently 0.1.7e.

What's your SNES's serial number (if you can't open it up)? I'm interested to see if this is another 1CHIP bug or not. I'll continue doing testing on my end, but I need to know if I should test on my Mini or one of my 3CHIPs.

Also which video output you use does not matter, as they are all generated from the same RGB signal coming off of PPU2. Just use the highest quality you can (RGB preferred, or S-Video if your TV doesn't have RGB).

And check the hash of the ROM you're using to make sure it's a good dump. It should match one of these: https://superfamicom.org/info/super-mario-world

And be sure you are using the correct region ROM for your console (for PAL-M, you want to use NTSC ROMs, as the console operates at the same 60.098814Hz as an NTSC SNES, just with a different color clock).

I couldn't read the serial number because it's already gone away and the only thing that i know it is a SNSM-001 BRA model.

The rom that i'm using is a dump from the no-intro team so i'm positive it is the cleanest rom that we can get, anyway i checked and it matches with the rom information provided by the link that you mentioned above.

I'll check if this glitch appears on SMBW from the Super Mario All Stars + World tonight and i'll post the result here afterwards.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: efsd on March 21, 2018, 01:43 AM
Here is the results:

Super Mario World:
- Glitch happens at random, more os less frequently, or doesn't happen at all during my tests at same spot and intensity.

Super Mario All Stars + Super Mario World:
- Glitch doesn't happen at random and hardly even show up BUT it did happen a few tries (one or two times i didn't count) during my tests and if it does happen the glitch is much less noticeable as if it was tweaked by Nintendo. My guess goes to the fact that Nintendo may have fixed certain known glitches from the first release as well it seems that Nintendo has fixed the slowdown on the level before the first castle when you get a star and there are many spikes coming towards you for example.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: iwasaperson on March 21, 2018, 04:33 AM
Did you check the glitch that i stated above on original sd2snes or chinese sd2snes?
Original, but it doesn't matter as both should function in identical ways due to the Chinese-made boards being made from the same schematics and PCB layout (Rev. F) which are open source. My consoles are all NTSC, btw.
It does matter, I had 2 chinese made SD2SNES that didn't work 100% as expected.
It's hit and miss with the chinese made boards unfortunately.

Guess I should have added "if it is fully functional."

I talked at length about the cons of buying Chinese-made SD2SNESs in his other thread, so I didn't feel the need to mention it twice: http://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topic=7395.0

Here is the results:

Super Mario World:
- Glitch happens at random, more os less frequently, or doesn't happen at all during my tests at same spot and intensity.

Super Mario All Stars + Super Mario World:
- Glitch doesn't happen at random and hardly even show up BUT it did happen a few tries (one or two times i didn't count) during my tests and if it does happen the glitch is much less noticeable as if it was tweaked by Nintendo. My guess goes to the fact that Nintendo may have fixed certain known glitches from the first release as well it seems that Nintendo has fixed the slowdown on the level before the first castle when you get a star and there are many spikes coming towards you for example.
I know the original Super Mario Bros. had the same issue on newer revisions of the NES, so maybe it's a difference in the hardware of the SNES that's causing it. I don't recall ever hearing about that issue though.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: abyssea on March 28, 2018, 09:23 PM
Had the same problem: https://www.reddit.com/r/snes/comments/7gaio6/differences_with_sd2snes_and_retail_cart_super/

tl;dr-
Solved the Super Mario issue by turning off In-Game Hook, In-Game Buttons and Initial Holdoff under Main Menu > Configuration > In-Game Settings.
I won't need these anyway since it's for cheat codes and restarting the console (or game) from the controller.


Also, make sure you're using the No-Intro Sets or a personal dump.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: efsd on March 31, 2018, 02:03 PM
Had the same problem: https://www.reddit.com/r/snes/comments/7gaio6/differences_with_sd2snes_and_retail_cart_super/

tl;dr-
Solved the Super Mario issue by turning off In-Game Hook, In-Game Buttons and Initial Holdoff under Main Menu > Configuration > In-Game Settings.
I won't need these anyway since it's for cheat codes and restarting the console (or game) from the controller.


Also, make sure you're using the No-Intro Sets or a personal dump.

That glitch happens at random even with all the in game hook turned off.

I think a few people have noticed this glitch because SMBW isn't a game that everyone urge to replay because most people have already finished this game many times. The developers should check this out because i'm almost sure this is a bug on sd2snes.

There is another glitch that I've experienced on sd2snes while playing Chrono Trigger. When you use the tech "Aura Whirl" the sprite of all characters whom are on screen flickers around themselves but this happens at random also and it seems it is only fixable by turning the console off and on.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: iwasaperson on March 31, 2018, 08:00 PM
Had the same problem: https://www.reddit.com/r/snes/comments/7gaio6/differences_with_sd2snes_and_retail_cart_super/

tl;dr-
Solved the Super Mario issue by turning off In-Game Hook, In-Game Buttons and Initial Holdoff under Main Menu > Configuration > In-Game Settings.
I won't need these anyway since it's for cheat codes and restarting the console (or game) from the controller.


Also, make sure you're using the No-Intro Sets or a personal dump.

That glitch happens at random even with all the in game hook turned off.

I think a few people have noticed this glitch because SMBW isn't a game that everyone urge to replay because most people have already finished this game many times. The developers should check this out because i'm almost sure this is a bug on sd2snes.

There is another glitch that I've experienced on sd2snes while playing Chrono Trigger. When you use the tech "Aura Whirl" the sprite of all characters whom are on screen flickers around themselves but this happens at random also and it seems it is only fixable by turning the console off and on.
I have noticed the Chrono Trigger glitch myself (no IGH), although I thought it was just because I was using a 1/1/1 SNES or it was a glitch in the game. Guess not. I'll try SMW.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: FeverDrive on April 02, 2018, 05:04 AM
I'm running a chinese sd2snes
I'm sorry efsd but I think this is the source of your problem.
Can you by any chance borrow a Krikzz made SD2SNES to do tests?
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: iwasaperson on April 03, 2018, 01:41 AM
I'm running a chinese sd2snes
I'm sorry efsd but I think this is the source of your problem.
Can you by any chance borrow a Krikzz made SD2SNES to do tests?
I highly doubt it. I'm seeing the same glitches in Chrono Trigger that he is, and my SD2SNES is legit. When working properly (which is a big "if" due to their iffy build quality), Chinese-made SD2SNESs work identically to ones made by KRIKzz due to it being an open source project.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: Jdurg on April 03, 2018, 09:08 PM
I'm running a chinese sd2snes
I'm sorry efsd but I think this is the source of your problem.
Can you by any chance borrow a Krikzz made SD2SNES to do tests?
I highly doubt it. I'm seeing the same glitches in Chrono Trigger that he is, and my SD2SNES is legit. When working properly (which is a big "if" due to their iffy build quality), Chinese-made SD2SNESs work identically to ones made by KRIKzz due to it being an open source project.

It's a not a problem with the design of the board.  The issues with the Chinese knock-offs is that in order to be as cheap as possible, they use the cheapest quality parts on the planet.  Parts not in spec with what an official board has.  Or lower quality parts with short lifespans, or counterfeit parts, etc.  THAT is why anytime there is an issue the first question to ask is whether it's an official board, or a Chinese Knock-off. 
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: efsd on April 04, 2018, 12:56 PM
I'm running a chinese sd2snes
I'm sorry efsd but I think this is the source of your problem.
Can you by any chance borrow a Krikzz made SD2SNES to do tests?
I highly doubt it. I'm seeing the same glitches in Chrono Trigger that he is, and my SD2SNES is legit. When working properly (which is a big "if" due to their iffy build quality), Chinese-made SD2SNESs work identically to ones made by KRIKzz due to it being an open source project.

It's a not a problem with the design of the board.  The issues with the Chinese knock-offs is that in order to be as cheap as possible, they use the cheapest quality parts on the planet.  Parts not in spec with what an official board has.  Or lower quality parts with short lifespans, or counterfeit parts, etc.  THAT is why anytime there is an issue the first question to ask is whether it's an official board, or a Chinese Knock-off.

At first i thought this could be the problem but my chinese sd2snes is fully functional and everything works as expected including MSU1. Also the board passed on all tests done by the sd2snes diagnostics and the burn-in test by the official Nintendo diagnostic rom so i see no reason not to rely on the board made in China.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: James-F on April 04, 2018, 01:02 PM
I can too see a line of few pixel when ending the first boss, it's caused by the in game button hooks.
It is expected to have some minor bugs as in-game hooks constantly injects a code that reads button combinations,, Disabling the hooks fixes that and runs the game like the original.
Tested with SFC + legit SD2SNES.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: efsd on April 04, 2018, 01:18 PM
I can too see a line of few pixel when ending the first boss, it's caused by the in game button hooks.
It is expected to have some minor bugs as in-game hooks constantly injects a code that reads button combinations,, Disabling the hooks fixes that and runs the game like the original.
Tested with SFC + legit SD2SNES.

I always have all the IGH turned off so i don't think this could be the problem. Actually doing the power cycle sometime do fix this glitch sometime don't.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: efsd on May 29, 2018, 03:26 PM
Hi everyone.

I finally got a legit SD2SNES bought on Krikzz Store and I can confirm that this glitch still DOES happen on current firmware 0.1.7e even with all in game hooks turned off.

I think this should be reported as bug.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: dreimer on May 29, 2018, 05:58 PM
In this case it seems to be a legit one. Report here: https://github.com/mrehkopf/sd2snes/issues
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: shiggypoo on June 08, 2019, 06:54 PM
Apologies for reopening an old topic, but it looks like this was never resolved and I’m exhibiting the exact same issue on my new SD2SNES Pro.  I thought that by reviving it and sharing video that perhaps additional troubleshooting could be done for myself, OP and anyone else seeing it.

See below video, anybody else experiencing this? Some people appear to have fixed it by disabling in-game hooks, however for me and OP that is not working.

https://youtu.be/AuiWbzxyiqM

Using latest 1.10.3 firmware on a brand new SD2SNES Pro

In-game hooks are off

SNES is 2/1/3

SD2SNES Pro passes diagnostic firmware and the console passes the burn-in rev D test.

Recently cleaned pin connector of console with a credit card, 99% isopropyl on a microfibre cloth and canned air.

ROMs sources from a no-intro compilation.

As a side note, the reason I’m mildly concerned is that the other night while playing DKC 3 I noticed some sprite corruption during the barrel shield level (corruption of one of the barrel shields while climbing a rope) It fixed itself once it was off screen and I went back so it could be nothing.
Title: Re: Super Mario World glitch on the first boss world 1
Post by: shiggypoo on June 09, 2019, 05:46 AM
I know that one user said they were able to remedy this by disabling in-game hooks, however for me they’re already disabled by default.  For giggles I decided to enable hooks to see if it made matters worse, and the glitch isn’t happening!

I’d be happy except that I have no desire to use this feature and it’s known to cause issues with certain games. Curious though...

Edit: Never mind, I tried a few more times and it’s happening with in-game hooks enabled same as when they’re disabled. Must be an example of how it’s an intermittent problem for several of us...