Author Topic: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64  (Read 90586 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline saturnu

  • ヽ(^o^)丿
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1182
  • Karma: +156/-0
    • View Profile
    • :D
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #30 on: November 07, 2015, 12:14 AM »
as i alresdy said, i don't know if these chips are still rewriteable. ^^
it is possible to set a lock bit as a security measure to protect the chip.

but there is still hope! ^^
at least it looks like an attiny25 or a compatible clone.

if you want to try out an isp programmer, keep in mind that the ultracic is fused for an external clock.
so you have to reflash it while the ED64 is running or you have to provide an external clock to PIN 2.



PB0 the MOSI should be GND on an installed ultracic. go sure that isn't the case while programming. :D
i can't tell you that by the picture, it looks like a multi layer pcb. :>


Offline nuu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1596
  • Karma: +75/-2
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #31 on: November 07, 2015, 12:58 AM »
here are my two cents about the compatibility of the usual suspects

after a bit forum search, i'm not sure if "star wars episode 1 - racer" has a problem at all.
maybe some guys are just using a bad dump.
there is no special feature in the 6102 cic you could check for and epprom access is done through pif commands. ^^
the eeprom chip isn't transparent nor special in any way in respect to the game.

the problem with dk64 was never an inaccurate eeprom simulation and it is simply a random cic 6105 test, 'cause RARE is using a cic test in JFG and BT, too.
i don't think it's just a coincidence that it's a 6105 game. there is a good chance it's fixed with an UltraCIC II (it should work ^^).

some note about "battle tanx"
the previous fix for that was to manually set the timing within the cic simulation.
the new cic simulation, that was introduced with parasytes game shark core, is working more accurate.
it's reading out that information in the header of every game and "battle tanx" is running fine for me, too.

about "pokemon stadium 2"
as many of you know, this is just a problem of the sram location at the end of the sdram.
technically it is possible to get this running on a v2/2.5 with an fpga update and a splitted mapper.
but there is "animal forest" too so you will only gain full compatibility on a v3 anyway,
even if krikzz would decide to go through this crude implementation. ^^

Dezaemon 3D is already fixed with >OS2.10
Jet Fore Gemini should now work without UltraCIC II
Banjo Tooie should now work without UltraCIC II
Do all regional versions of Jet Force Gemini and Banjo Tooie work now? I must have missed that. I might as well remove Battle Tanx from the incompatibility list too if it works now. And add the cicII info to the list.

Offline saturnu

  • ヽ(^o^)丿
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1182
  • Karma: +156/-0
    • View Profile
    • :D
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #32 on: November 07, 2015, 01:05 AM »
Just a typo all region version should work with an ultracic ii.

Offline MockyLock

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 684
  • Karma: +25/-2
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #33 on: November 07, 2015, 09:28 AM »
After a little check, pin 5 PBO/MOSI of the Chinese CIC is connected to pin 13 of the CIC slot (the lone VSS in NUS-CIC pinout).
All the other pins are connected like you described in your post above.


Well, these are my thoughts :
- i can install the chinese switchable CIC in the Everdrive, but i have to desolder the pin PBO/MOSI from its pad.
- i have to solder a little wire to this pin PBO/MOSI so i could connect it to either GND for use, or MOSI for flash.
- i'll still be able to solder wires to the needed pins on the back of the CIC pins (on the front side of Everdrive) in order to flash it with updated codes

Here what would be the wiring diagram for flashing :
Locate :


Diagram :


So you told me i have to flash it while the Everdrive is running.
Just power on N64 with Everdrive, at the menu screen ?

Sorry for my never-ending asks, but i have so much to learn, and you seem to be the better teacher :)

Offline saturnu

  • ヽ(^o^)丿
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1182
  • Karma: +156/-0
    • View Profile
    • :D
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #34 on: November 07, 2015, 02:41 PM »
Yes or just connect clk in and vcc and gnd and connect the rest and gnd to the programmer. The whole point is that it needs to be ext. clocked for the icsp programmer.

Offline MockyLock

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 684
  • Karma: +25/-2
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #35 on: November 08, 2015, 08:06 PM »
Hum, external clocked or clocked by the running everdrive ? I'm pretty lost...

Offline saturnu

  • ヽ(^o^)丿
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1182
  • Karma: +156/-0
    • View Profile
    • :D
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #36 on: November 08, 2015, 09:09 PM »
both would be external clocked (external clk into the chip), the chip internal osciallator is disabled.

Offline MockyLock

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 684
  • Karma: +25/-2
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #37 on: November 09, 2015, 08:18 AM »
That' becoming harder than expected...
I've soldered that switch CIC in my everdrive with the PBO grounded with a wire. I'll see later if i'll be good enough to try a flash.
« Last Edit: November 09, 2015, 08:28 AM by MockyLock »

Offline saturnu

  • ヽ(^o^)丿
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1182
  • Karma: +156/-0
    • View Profile
    • :D
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #38 on: November 09, 2015, 12:17 PM »
I think a better idea would be to boot the n64 with the old cic and just connect (PIN8:vcc), PIN4:gnd and PIN2:clk-in parallel to it.
than turn on the n64 and and start the programming of the attached ultracic over the spi bus (PB 0,1,2,5,gnd).

i don't know if there is data on the data-io and data-clk pins while the n64 is running, that could mess up your spi bus.
maybe it's working to program it in circuit or maybe not. :D

Offline saturnu

  • ヽ(^o^)丿
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1182
  • Karma: +156/-0
    • View Profile
    • :D
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #39 on: November 11, 2015, 08:55 PM »
This is what i was using to reflash my ultracic that is fused to external clk.

It's a 20Mhz quartz oscillators and in specs, if powered of 5v. ^^
If you are using 3v3 you shouldn't go much higher than 10Mhz and if your attiny is brand new the internal osc is enough.

ATtiny25/45/85: 0 – 10 MHz @ 2.7 - 5.5V, 0 - 20 MHz @ 4.5 - 5.5V


Zelda93

  • Guest
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #40 on: November 12, 2015, 12:12 AM »
Does anyone from Europe (preferably the UK) mind doing this mod for me if was to send you my everdrive? I really wouldn't have a clue to be honest.

Offline Aroenai

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • Sentient Hunk of Green Cheese
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #41 on: November 12, 2015, 07:41 PM »
Looks like the China chips have been upgraded. Evidently the switch order is backwards (Vcc=PAL, GND=NTSC) according to the seller, can anyone verify?
Quote
EverDrive64, ED64Plus, 64drive Flash Cart need a CIC Chip for boot to run on a N64 console   
UltraCIC II(ATtiny25) chip work for all PAL/NTSC N64 system, support to run CIC-NUS-6105/7105 non patched games (e.g. Banjo-Tooie (U) [!].z64)

'P' Switch position for PAL N64 CIC-NUS-7101

'N' Switch position for NTSC N64 CIC-NUS-6102

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/UltraCIC-PAL-NTSC-Version-CIC-Chip-for-EVERDRIVE-64-ED64Plus-N64-Flash-Cart/1902006_32431977887.html
---
Mostly working on Zelda OoT & MM GC patches
Also, breaking region protections
Everdrive 64 v2.01 modified with an UltraCIC II, 64drive HW2

Offline saturnu

  • ヽ(^o^)丿
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1182
  • Karma: +156/-0
    • View Profile
    • :D
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #42 on: November 12, 2015, 07:52 PM »
lol, it seems like here are some chinese vendors in the forum. ^^

Offline GreatFunky

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
  • Karma: +14/-0
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #43 on: November 13, 2015, 09:08 AM »
lol, it seems like here are some chinese vendors in the forum. ^^


Offline Modman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
    • Kodewerx
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #44 on: November 16, 2015, 04:39 AM »
Well, after some tinkering, I have successfully installed an UltraCIC II into my everdrive V2. It just booted up an unpatched Banjo Tooie rom perfectly. Now to test GameShark codes.

I used a Minipro TL866A programmer for the ATTiny25's. Worked perfectly.

Edit:

GameShark codes are working. Thank you, Saturnu. Also, I don't know if it's a big deal, but I noticed in your patch that you set the CIC to a 7101. I removed that when I patched ultracic.asm so that mine would remain a 6102, since I'm on an NTSC console. Other than that, I didn't make any changes.

I had stolen a 6105 from a Donkey Kong 64 cart I had during a previous attempt to get the ED64 to boot Banjo Tooie. That didn't work out for me. But, luckily my cart is saved due to the UltraCIC II. Installed here and working:



For the Donkey Kong 64 UltraCIC, I did set it to 6105 before I flashed it.
« Last Edit: November 16, 2015, 07:43 AM by Modman »