Author Topic: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64  (Read 90578 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Link83

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #135 on: January 01, 2016, 09:55 PM »
i think it might be possible to build a switchless UltraCIC III. ^^
A switchless UltraCIC III would be great saturnu! Has there been any progress since this post? (Just wondering if I should wait before installing my UltraCIC II)
« Last Edit: January 01, 2016, 10:23 PM by Link83 »

Offline saturnu

  • ヽ(^o^)丿
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1182
  • Karma: +156/-0
    • View Profile
    • :D
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #136 on: January 01, 2016, 10:38 PM »
i have a concept on my mind, but i've never tried it.
to be honest, i'm a bit bored with console stuff atm. ^^

Offline xadox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #137 on: January 14, 2016, 09:55 AM »
Got my EverDrive-64 v2.5 a few days ago. Is there an easy way to check if it already has the UltraCIC II?
« Last Edit: January 14, 2016, 09:56 AM by xadox »

Offline D4v3WTF

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 279
  • Karma: +9/-0
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #138 on: January 14, 2016, 11:03 AM »
Hi, remove your SD card and look inside the Ed64's SD card slot if there is a smal switch. If there is a switch, you should have an UltraCIC II.
N64 PAL Games Collection: 204/243
N64 PAL Demo Collection: 1/1
N64 Region Free NTSC Games: 1
Everdrive 64 v2.01 modded UltraCIC II
SD2SNES Rev. F modded Rev. H

Offline xadox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #139 on: January 14, 2016, 11:08 AM »
Hmm. It has the switch. But I tought the UltraCIC I also already had the switch?
But maybe I mix something up ???

Or was there never a UltraCIC I?
« Last Edit: January 14, 2016, 11:11 AM by xadox »

Offline saturnu

  • ヽ(^o^)丿
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1182
  • Karma: +156/-0
    • View Profile
    • :D
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #140 on: January 14, 2016, 11:55 AM »
please read again the first sentence in the first post. ^^

Offline xadox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #141 on: January 14, 2016, 12:16 PM »
Thx saturnu.

Offline Link83

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #142 on: January 16, 2016, 06:43 PM »
i have a concept on my mind, but i've never tried it.
to be honest, i'm a bit bored with console stuff atm. ^^
Sorry to hear that, I hope we do eventually get to see your concept of a switchless UltraCIC III.
I very much appreciate all your work saturnu :D

Got my EverDrive-64 v2.5 a few days ago. Is there an easy way to check if it already has the UltraCIC II?
AFAIK with the ED64 v2.5 and v3 PCB's that come with an ATtiny25 on board (Instead of an original Nintendo CIC) theres no easy way to tell if you have the original UltraCIC code or the new UltraCIC II code flashed.

If you ordered directly from KRIKzz after the 26th November 2015, then you should definitely have the UltraCIC II:-
https://twitter.com/krikzz/status/670147306033926144

Otherwise I guess the only easy way to check would be to try loading Banjo-Tooie, but make sure to delete the biggest patch in the /ED64/AUTO folder first:-
http://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topic=3450.msg34125#msg34125
If any version of Banjo-Tooie loads after removing that patch then you must have the UltraCIC II code.
« Last Edit: January 19, 2016, 10:23 AM by Link83 »

Offline saturnu

  • ヽ(^o^)丿
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1182
  • Karma: +156/-0
    • View Profile
    • :D
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #143 on: January 29, 2016, 06:04 PM »
if you don't have a banjo tooie or jet force gemini rom, you can now use this testrom, to test your ultracic installation.

Testrom


Download:
http://krikzz.com/forum/index.php?topic=2298.msg23606#msg23606
« Last Edit: June 10, 2016, 12:16 AM by saturnu »

Offline skaman

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #144 on: February 25, 2016, 04:18 AM »
Thanks saturnu for the UltraCIC II code and the test program!

I finally got around to installing the original Chinese UltraCIC that I picked up for my Everdrive v2.  I flashed the chip with the UltraCIC II code and replaced the original CIC on the Everdrive.  The test program was helpful to get a quick confirmation that everything was working properly.

As mentioned somewhere in this thread, the switch on the Chinese UltraCIC was wired opposite (P = NTSC and N = PAL).  Too bad I didn't realize this until after I soldered it in.  It would have been easier to reflash a modified UltraCIC II code while the chip was still loose.  I'm going to leave it as is since it works.

Thanks again for all of your help!

Offline SmokeMonster

  • Puzzle Bobbler
  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 412
  • Karma: +61/-0
  • tsst tchh chh ch ch ch
    • View Profile
    • SmokeMonster YouTube Channel
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #145 on: February 25, 2016, 05:21 AM »
As mentioned somewhere in this thread, the switch on the Chinese UltraCIC was wired opposite (P = NTSC and N = PAL).  Too bad I didn't realize this until after I soldered it in.
They must have fixed this in a later revision because I bought one through Aliexpress a few months ago and it's wired correctly.

Offline geriatrix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #146 on: June 08, 2016, 10:23 PM »
Sorry to bump an old topic, but is it possible to make it so that tying pin 3 to GND or VCC actually switches between CIC_TYPE?

For example, if it's wired to GND it does 6102, and if wired to VCC it does 6105. Is this possible instead of the NTSC/PAL switch? Or better yet, can pin 5 be used as the CIC switch and pin 3 be left as the region switch?

Offline Aroenai

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 264
  • Karma: +20/-0
  • Sentient Hunk of Green Cheese
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #147 on: June 08, 2016, 11:56 PM »
It's possible, but I can't think of a reason it'd be very useful. The Everdrive won't run using a 6105, unless you're trying to use it with a different cart?
---
Mostly working on Zelda OoT & MM GC patches
Also, breaking region protections
Everdrive 64 v2.01 modified with an UltraCIC II, 64drive HW2

Offline geriatrix

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC II for legacy ED64
« Reply #148 on: June 09, 2016, 03:46 AM »
^^ Yeah it's a custom cart, and I'd like to do it without using a boot emulator.

Offline bidou67

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 185
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: switchable UltraCIC for legacy ED64
« Reply #149 on: July 08, 2016, 10:26 PM »
here is my ultracic adapter, i was using while testing :D
it's not really necessary to desolder the old cic, you can just disable it, too
(if you are unable to desolder for some reasons or missing tools)




Trouduc  saturnu Trouduc  ???
« Last Edit: July 11, 2016, 12:40 PM by bidou67 »