Author Topic: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES? [NO!]  (Read 42995 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline OneBagTravel

  • Sony KV-20FV300
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Has the Perrier gone straight to my head?
    • View Profile
    • OneBagTravel.com
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #30 on: June 20, 2018, 05:40 PM »
Actually fun fact, most SA-1 games just used it for DRM purposes, so it is theoretically possible to hack the games to not use it, but that would be a major pain. It would be easier to just make a half-assed SA-1 FPGA core with the CIC stuff and some of the 65816 stuff.
No idea who started this 'fact'.
Travel light & smart. SFC using HD Retrovision component cables.

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #31 on: June 20, 2018, 06:18 PM »
Actually fun fact, most SA-1 games just used it for DRM purposes, so it is theoretically possible to hack the games to not use it, but that would be a major pain. It would be easier to just make a half-assed SA-1 FPGA core with the CIC stuff and some of the 65816 stuff.
No idea who started this 'fact'.

So you're saying we should give up on ever seeing it implemented?

Offline OneBagTravel

  • Sony KV-20FV300
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 153
  • Karma: +17/-0
  • Has the Perrier gone straight to my head?
    • View Profile
    • OneBagTravel.com
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #32 on: June 20, 2018, 07:32 PM »
So you're saying we should give up on ever seeing it implemented?
No idea how you extrapolated that out of my comment. You said you stated a fact which made me question your source for said fact. Do you have sources for your fact?
Travel light & smart. SFC using HD Retrovision component cables.

Offline dreimer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
  • Karma: +23/-0
    • View Profile
    • Reimi's Blog
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #33 on: June 20, 2018, 08:18 PM »
You forgot some " before and after the word fact ^^
Naah, this is NO fact, this is bollocks and it does not mean it's impossible, but it's no walk through the forest, too.

Offline iwasaperson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • Karma: +13/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #34 on: June 20, 2018, 08:29 PM »
Better info on exactly what it does here: http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=15759

Maybe saying it was "only" for DRM was an oversimplification. The point is that it doesn't need to be completely implemented in order to run all released SA-1 games, which is important information as the SD2SNES likely could not fit a full SA-1 FPGA core on it.
« Last Edit: June 20, 2018, 08:34 PM by iwasaperson »
@Syboxez on Discord and some other places as well.

Offline Greg2600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 335
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #35 on: June 21, 2018, 02:14 AM »
Better info on exactly what it does here: http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=15759

Maybe saying it was "only" for DRM was an oversimplification. The point is that it doesn't need to be completely implemented in order to run all released SA-1 games, which is important information as the SD2SNES likely could not fit a full SA-1 FPGA core on it.

Thread should close with this!

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #36 on: June 21, 2018, 03:03 AM »
Better info on exactly what it does here: http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=15759

Maybe saying it was "only" for DRM was an oversimplification. The point is that it doesn't need to be completely implemented in order to run all released SA-1 games, which is important information as the SD2SNES likely could not fit a full SA-1 FPGA core on it.

But again, no one's tackling the chip's implementation, so I don't think it's going to happen anytime soon  :-\

Offline dreimer

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 301
  • Karma: +23/-0
    • View Profile
    • Reimi's Blog
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #37 on: June 21, 2018, 01:40 PM »
Everyone here is free to tackle it. That's what open source means ^^ These threads don't help anyone, because all ppl do is heat up old FACTS for nothing. If some uber code like redguy or someone else decides to try, then he will do with and without these monthly threads. Please close, thx ^^

Offline Arnold101

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 385
  • Karma: +4/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #38 on: June 25, 2018, 08:34 PM »
Yes is possible.

Offline James-F

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
  • Karma: +29/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #39 on: June 26, 2018, 08:25 AM »
Posted by RedGuy on Discord an hour ago:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qHMnT5aOcg
Mega Everdrive x5, Everdrive 64 v3, Everdrive N8, N8 Pro, SD2SNES, Joyzz.

Offline Greg2600

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 335
  • Karma: +8/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #40 on: June 26, 2018, 08:31 AM »
Well that was fast!

Offline leonquest

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
  • Karma: +22/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #41 on: June 26, 2018, 09:04 AM »
Posted by RedGuy on Discord an hour ago:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qHMnT5aOcg

I love just how redguy shut down so  many negative nancies and ignorant naysayers around here that insisted SA-1 wasn't possible on the sd2snes by simply posting a video. Goooooo redguyyy!!!!
Everdrive64 V3 - SD2Snes rev. f - Everdrive N8 fami - MegaEd X3 - PS IO - MODE - MISTer

Offline James-F

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
  • Karma: +29/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #42 on: June 26, 2018, 09:35 AM »
So to answer this threads' question;

Apparently it is indeed possible to emulate the SA-1 instruction set on the SD2SNES FPGA by a very experienced software engineer.

Our candy retro ass doesn't deserve this man immense talent and experience,,, and we get it for free.
His contribution is ankle kissing worthy, without feeling less manly for a single second.
Mega Everdrive x5, Everdrive 64 v3, Everdrive N8, N8 Pro, SD2SNES, Joyzz.

Offline the_randomizer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #43 on: June 26, 2018, 10:14 AM »
Posted by RedGuy on Discord an hour ago:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qHMnT5aOcg

W..w.w..wh...what...? Wow, uh, dayum, his work...masterful. We are not worthy  :o 8)

SA-1 implementation and GSU/GSU-2 just made the SD2SNES even more awesome, because it was awesome before  ;D

Offline AlxUnderBase

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.soundcloud.com/alexunderbase
Re: Is it physically impossible to emulate the SA-1 on the SD2NES?
« Reply #44 on: June 26, 2018, 10:18 AM »
Incredible !
SD2SNES rev F - EVERDRIVE-64 v3 - EVERDRIVE N8 Fam - EVERDRIVE-GBA X5 - EVERDRIVE-GBA X7 - PSIO